ITBP DG: Sanjay Arora Career and Responsibilities

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : Mar 8, 2023, 18:08

On 31st August 2021, senior Indian Police Service officer Sanjay Arora took charge as the ITBP DG. He will lead the elite Indo-Tibetan Border Police Force as the Director-General until 31st July 2025, which is the date of his superannuation. He is the 31st DG of ITBP after S.S. Deswal, who retired on 31st August 2021 after three years of service to the force. Deswal handed over the customary baton to his successor at the ITBP headquarters located at Block 2, CGO Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi.

Sanjay Arora, a part of the 1998 IPS batch of Tamil Nadu cadre, now has the privilege of serving as the DG of ITBP, which was raised six decades ago in 1962 to guard the mountainous unfenced India-China borders. Additionally, he also accepted the charge of the DG of Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB), another border guarding force, on 31st December 2021. He took over from the retired DG Kumar Rajesh Chandra. The SSB is responsible for protecting India's borders with Nepal and Bhutan.

Sanjay Arora Becomes the New ITBP DG

Sanjay Arora has dedicated himself to guarding the northern borders with valour, determination, and devotion to duty, which is the motto of ITBP. His force is responsible for maintaining vigil, preventing border violations, and promoting an overall sense of security among the Indian citizens. From 1997 to 2000, he commanded the ITBP in Matli, Uttarakhand. He made valuable contributions in training from 2000 to 2002, when he served as the Commandant at the ITBP Academy, Mussoorie. He served as the Commissioner of Police of Coimbatore in 2002 before taking on the role of the DIG of Police of Villupuram. His vast experience comes in handy in his current role as DG ITBP.

IPS Career of Sanjay Arora

Post joining the IPS, Sanjay Arora has served in numerous capacities in Tamil Nadu Police. As the Superintendent of Police, Special Task Force, he caught several members of the Veerappan gang. In addition, he led the Special Security Group, which provided an additional layer of security to the then chief minister of Tamil Nadu during a spurt in the activities of the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam, a militant separatist group. He received training from NSG for the same. He served as the Commandant of ITBP before being promoted to DG of ITBP.

Other Responsibilities

As Additional Commissioner - Crime and Headquarters and Additional Commissioner - Traffic, he oversaw the Chennai City Police. He was promoted to Assistant Director General of Police (Operations) and Assistant Director-General of Police (Administration) in Tamil Nadu Police. He has served as the BSF's IG (Special Operations), the CRPF's IG Chhattisgarh Sector, and the CRPF's IG Operations. Before being named DG ITBP, he served as ADG Headquarters and Operations CRPF and Special DG J&K Zone CRPF.

Awards Received by Sanjay Arora

Early on in his career, IPS Sanjay Arora received the CM's Gallantry Medal for his bravery and heroism. In 2004, he also got the Police Medal for Meritorious Service for his gallantry. In 2014 and the succeeding years, he received:

  • The President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service
  • The Antik Suraksha Padak and UN Peacekeeping Medal
  • The Police Special Duty Medal

His achievements make him a perfect candidate for the role of DG of ITBP. He's also an immense source of inspiration for current IPS candidates as they look up to his glowing career trajectory.

The Indo-Tibetan Border Police Force is a Central Armed Police Force. That means ITBP functions under the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), Government of India. Thus, the ITBP DG Sanjay Arora is answerable and accountable to the Government of India, the highest governing body.

More Current Affairs Topics
National Education DayNational Educational Alliance For Technology Neat 3 0
National Electric Mobility Mission PlanNational Energy Conservation Day
National Engineers DayNational Farmers Day
National Film FestivalNational Fish Farmers Day
National Game Of CountriesNational Game Of India

FAQs about ITBP DG

Who is the current DG of ITBP?

IPS Sanjay Arora is the current DG of ITBP.

Who is the former DG of ITBP?

S.S. Deswal is the former DG of ITBP.

Does the ITBP DG function under the State Government?

No, the ITBP DG functions under the Government of India, specifically the Ministry of Home Affairs.