Gandhi Peace Prize

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : May 9, 2022, 8:54

Instituted in 1995, the Government of India launched the International Gandhi Peace Prize on the 125th birth anniversary of Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi. The annual award is given to institutions or individuals to mark their contributions. It honours the contributions made toward social, economic, and political transformation brought about by non-violence or other Gandhian methods.

Proposals for the Gandhi Peace Prize

The Jury can invite anybody to propose the Gandhi Peace Prize. Apart from this, the following list of members have the power to propose the Gandhi Peace Prize:

  • Former members of the Jury
  • Ex-Awardees of the Gandhi Peace Prize
  • Nobel Laureates of the last five years
  • United Nations Secretary-general along with other leaders of international organisations.
  • Commonwealth Parliamentary Union
  • Commonwealth Secretary-General
  • Other officials

Gandhi Peace Prize Jury

The jury is chaired by the Prime Minister and the other members, including the Chief Justice of India, the leader of the single largest Opposition party in the Lok Sabha, the Speaker of the Lok Sabha, and the founder of Sulabh International.

Gandhi Peace Prize Reward

The Gandhi Peace Prize can be given to individuals, associations, or organisations based on the work that they have done in the 10 years preceding the nomination year. It can also be divided between two institutions or institutions that are considered equally deserving of recognition by the Jury.

It is open to all persons irrespective of nationality, creed, race, or sex. The award consists of INR 1 crore, a citation in a scroll, a plaque, and an exquisite traditional handicraft/handloom.

Gandhi Peace Prize Awardees of 2019 and 2020

Qaboos bin Said Al Said -

Qaboos bin Said Al Said was the Late Sultan of Oman. He served as a leader for the longest time, from 23rd July 1970 to 10th January 2020, in the Middle East and the Arab world.

☛ Also Read: Daily Current Affairs

The Gandhi Peace Prize for 2019 has been awarded to the Late Sultan of Oman, Qaboos bin Said Al Said. He was awarded for his visionary ideas involving a twin policy of moderation and mediation. He used these policies to address multiple International issues that won him a lot of praise. Sultan Qaboos was the reason behind the good relations between India and Oman.

Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman -

Sheik Mujibur Rahman was the first President of Bangladesh. He was also the second Prime Minister of Bangladesh and is considered an important pioneer of Bangladesh's Independence. His six-point movement favouring the disbandment of Pakistan province titled 'Our Charter of Survival' is quite famous. He played an important role in the Bangladesh Liberation War of 1971, and the people of Bangladesh call him Bangabandhu out of love and respect.

Important Exams
SSC ExamDefence Exam
SSC CHSL ExamSSC Steno Exam
RRB NTPC ExamIBPS Clerk Exam

List of Gandhi Peace Prize Winners

On 22nd March 2021, the Government of India awarded the Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2020 to the Father of Nation in Bangladesh, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

Apart from Sheikh Mujibur and Sultan Qaboos, here's a list of individuals who have won the Gandhi Peace Prize in the past few years.

Year of Award

Name of the Awardees


Yōhei Sasakawa


Ekal Abhiyan Trust


Akshayapatra Foundation


Sulabh International


Vivekananda Kendra




More Current Affairs Topics
PRAGYATA Guidelines for Digital EducationParker Solar Probe
Covid 19 and Indian Foreign Policy UPSCDigital Quality of Life Index
Directed Energy WeaponsDigital Rights
Emergency Credit Line Guarantee Scheme [ECLGS]E-Bill Processing System
Export Preparedness Index [EPI]Fit to 55 Packages

FAQs on Gandhi Peace Prize

Q.1. What is a 'Joint Award' in the Gandhi Peace Prize?

Two persons or two organisations equally deserving of the prize can be awarded a Gandhi Peace Prize Joint Award.

Q.2. Who received the Gandhi Peace Prize under the Joint Award?

In 2016, the Akshaya Patra Foundation and the Sulabh International jointly received the Gandhi Peace Prize.

Q.3. Which organisations won the Gandhi Peace Prize?

Ramakrishna Mission received the Gandhi Peace Prize in 1998, and Bharatiya Vidya Bhawan was given the prize in 2002.

Q.4. Why is Gandhi Peace Prize awarded?

Gandhi Peace Prize is awarded for contributions made in the promotion of international peace and goodwill.

Q.5. Who were the Joint winners of the Gandhi Peace Prize in 2000?

In the year 2000, the Joint winners of the Gandhi Peace Prize are Nelson Mandela and the community development bank, Grameen Bank.