BWF World Championships

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : Mar 1, 2022, 12:19

The Badminton World Federation World Championships, formerly known as the International Badminton Federation World Championships and known as the World Badminton Championships, is a badminton world championship sanctioned by the Badminton World Federation (BWF). With the Summer Olympics badminton tournaments, originally established in 1992, the tournament is one of the most prestigious in badminton, offering the highest-ranking points. The tournament's champions are also dubbed "World Champions" and receive a gold medal.

Starting in 1977, the BWF world championship was conducted every three years until 1983. However, the IBF (International Badminton Federation) had trouble staging the first two events because the World Badminton Federation held the same tournament a year later with the same goals as the IBF World Championships.

The tournament became biannual in 1985 and was held every two years until 2005. The tournament became an annual event on the BWF calendar starting in 2006. The competition is not contested during the Summer Olympic years to avoid scheduling issues.

BWF World Championship 2021

From December 12th to December 19th, the 2021 Badminton World Federation (BWF) World Championships, formally known as the TotalEnergies BWF World Championships 2021, were held in Huelva, Spain. Loh Kean Yew of Singapore won the Men's Singles title, while Akane Yamaguchi of Japan won the Women's Singles title in the BWF World Championship 2021. The badminton world tour finals generate a lot of interest among viewers.

Winners of the BWF World Championship 2021

Listed below are the winners who bagged the trophy of the BWF World Championship:




Men's Singles

Loh Kean Yew (Singapore)

Srikanth Kidambi (India)

Women's Singles

Akane Yamaguchi (Japan)

Tai – Tzu Ying (Chinese Taipei)

Men's Doubles

Takuro Hoki & Yugo Kobayashi (Japan)

He Jiting & Tan Qiang (China)

Women's Doubles

Chen Qingchen & Jia Yifan (China)

Lee So-hee & Shin Seung-Chan (South Korea)

Mixed Doubles

Dechapol Puavaranukroh & Sapsiree Taerattanachai (Thailand)

Yuta Watanabe & Arisa Higashino (Japan)

BWF World Championship History

The medals were traditionally distributed among five countries from 1977 to 2001, notably China, Korea, Denmark, Indonesia, and Malaysia. However, in 2003, seven countries were among the winners, and in 2005, ten countries were represented on the medal board, a new high.

Tony Gunawan has also won a gold medal in Men's Doubles for Indonesia and the United States, partnering with Halim Haryanto in 2001 and Howard Bach in 2005 to give the United States its first medal in the competition. The mixed doubles event, dominated by China and Korea since 1997, saw new faces at the 2005 edition.

Performance by Kidambi Srikanth

Kidambi Srikanth was the most in-form player on the Indian badminton circuit. He won four gold medals at four different BWF Super Series events during the 2017-18 season. At the 2018 Commonwealth Games, he won a gold and a silver medal. Since then, though, his condition has deteriorated. He did not win a single medal in major tournaments. He never advanced beyond the quarter-finals. This time, though, things went differently.

Kidambi Srikanth was the tournament's most successful Indian. He became the first Indian male shuttler to reach the BWF World Championship final. In addition, the former World No. 1 became the first Indian male shuttler to earn a silver medal at the competition. He joins Prakash Padukone and Sai Praneeth as the only male shuttlers to win a World Championship medal with the silver medal.

More Current Affair Topics
Types of CryptocurrencyVan Mahotsav
World Animal DayWorld Hindi Day
World Pharmacists DayWorld Tourism Day
YSR BimaFather of Science
10 Wickets in an InningsAbraham Accords

FAQs on BWF World Championships

Q.1) Who won the men's singles in the BWF World Championship in 2021?

Loh Kean Yew from Singapore won the men's singles title in the BWF World Championship.

Q.2) Who won the women's singles in the BWF World Championship?

Akane Yamaguchi from Japan won the women's singles in the BWF World Championship.

Q.3) Where was the BWF World Championship 2021 conducted?

The BWF World Championship 2021 was conducted in Huelva, Spain.