Complete List of Nobel Prize Winners 2019, Check Here

By Neha Joshi|Updated : December 28th, 2019

In this article, we are sharing the complete list of "Nobel Prize winners 2019" along with some most important points, that will act as a score booster for students in the upcoming teaching examinations. Check the list of Nobel prize 2019 winners & their photos.

Nobel Prize Winners 2019 List

Nobel Prize:

  • Annual awards are given in the fields of Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, Peace, and Economics.
  • First established in 1895 at the will of the Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel.
  • All the Prize except Peace Prize awarded in Stockholm, Sweden.
  • Peace Prize awarded in Oslo, Norway.
  • The Prize is not awarded posthumously.
  • The Nobel Prize in Physics, Chemistry, Economic and Science presented by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.
  • The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine is presented by the Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institute.
  • The Nobel Prize for Literature presented by the Swedish Academy.
  • The Nobel Prize in Peace presented by the Norwegian Nobel Committee.
  • Youngest Nobel Laureate (17-years): Malala Yousafzai for Peace in 2014.
  • Oldest Nobel Laureate (97-years): John B. Goodenough for Chemistry in 2019.

Indian Nobel laureates:

  • Till now, 12 Indians (5 Indian citizens and 7 of Indian origin or residency) have been awarded Nobel Prize
  • The first person of Indian origin and also first Asian to be awarded the Nobel Prize was Rabindranath Tagore for his works "Gitanjali" in 1913.
  • First Indian recipient of Nobel Prize in Physics was C. V. Raman for his work on the scattering of light and for the discovery of the effect named after him" in 1930.
  • First Indian recipient of Nobel Prize for Peace was Mother Teresa in 1979.
  • First Indian recipient of Nobel Prize in Economics was Amartya Sen in 1998.
  • First Indian recipient of Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was Har Gobind Khorana for their interpretation of the genetic code and its function in protein synthesis in 1968.
  • First Indian recipient of Nobel Prize in Chemistry was Venkatraman Ramakrishnan for studies of the structure and function of the ribosome in 2009.
  • The only woman from India in the list of Nobel Prize recipient is Mother Teresa.

Nobel Prize Winners 2019


John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino


  • For the development of 'lithium-ion' batteries

will be announced on Monday

Literature (2018 & 2019)

For 2019- Peter Handke (Austrian writer) & 2018 - Olga Tokarczuk (Polish author)


  • Peter Handke(2019): For an influential work that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human experience.
  • Olga Tokarczuk(2018): For a narrative imagination that with encyclopedic passion represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life.

William G. Kaelin, Gregg L. Semenza, Peter J. Ratcliffe


  • For their discoveries of how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability.

Abiy Ahmed Ali (Prime Minister of Ethiopia)


  • For his efforts to achieve peace and international cooperation, and in particular for his decisive initiative to resolve the border conflict with neighbouring Eritrea

Jim Peebles, Michel Mayor, Didier Queloz (Left to Right)



  • For contributions to our understanding of the evolution of the universe and Earth's place in the cosmos.



Prep Sart Score Better. Go BYJU'S Exam Prep.


write a comment

Follow us for latest updates