Rajasthan State Exam Study Notes: Praja Mandal Movement

By Trupti Thool|Updated : March 18th, 2022

The history is not a chronological arrangement of events & incidents only, it is an overall development in the society, its culture and changing socio-economic conditions. The history of human settlement in Rajasthan is almost as old as any other part of India starting from Paleolithic period. A survey of the Banas and its tributaries the Gambhiri, the Viraj, and Wagan has provided evidences that man lived along the banks of these rivers at least 100,000 years ago. In Rajasthan places like Didwana, are among the major centres of Paleolithic period. Excavations at Kalibanga in northern Rajasthan revealed the zenith of Harappan times on the banks of a river, Saraswati. The present day districts of Jhunjhunu and Sikar, along with other areas of Jaipur district bordering south Haryana, formed the part of Vedic state of Brahmavarta. After that contribution in Medieval period was more than any other part of India. The land of heroes and fighters showed its power in medieval period. Rajputana, Pratiharas were main rulers here. In Modern History, Rajasthan was one of the major battle ground against British Regime. Rajasthan was mainly divided in many princely states, though their rulers didn't join forces with freedom fighters but all subjects of these princely states were major contributors in struggle.


Prajamandal Movement

  • In 1928, Rajputana Native States public Council was established which laid the foundation of Prajamanda Movement in Rajasthan.
  • Under the direction of Prajamandal, the National movement emerged in Rajasthan whose main aim was to get freedom from Feudalism, Kingship and British Govt.
  • In the first phase of politics in Rajasthan, four names are appreciable. They are Arjunlal Sethi (1880-1941), Kesari Singh Barhat (1872-1941), Swami Gopaldas (1882-1939), and Rao Gopal Singh (1872-1956).
  • Some Important Prajamandals are as follows.
  1. Kota Prajamandal
  • It was established by Nainuram Sharma in 1938, who resigned from the post of Inspector.
  • Its first session took place in Mangalore.
  1. Ajmer Prajamandal
  • Under the chairmanship of Jamnalal Bajaj, Rajputana Madhya Bharat Sabha was organized in 1920 which was attended by Arjunlal Sethi, Kesari Singh Barhat, Rao Gopalsingh, Vijay Singh Pathik, etc.
  • In 1921, the Second Political Conference was organized which was attended by Motilal Nehru in which foreign clothes were boycotted.
  1. Jaipur Prajamandal
  • In 1931, it was established by Arjunlal Sethi and Kapurchand Patni.
  • In 1938, it was re-established by Hiralal Shashtri and Jamnalal Bajaj.
  • On 17 March 1942, Gentleman Agreement was signed between Hiralal Shashtri and Mirza Smile, Prime Minister of Jaipur. Under this agreement, Jaipur Prajamandal will stay away from Quit India Movement.
  1. Jaisalmer Prajamandal
  • It was established by Mithalal Vyas.
  • A member of this Prajamandal, Gopa was killed in jail.
  1. Bundi Prajamandal
  • It was established by Kantilal in 1931.
  • Nityanand and Rishidatta Mehta were the most active member of this Prajamandal.
  • In 1923, Rishidatta Mehta published a weekly newspaper names ‘Rajasthan’.
  1. Marwar Prajamandal
  • It was established by Bhanvar Lal Sharraf in 1934.
  • In 1936 Jaynarayan Vyas was disallowed to enter in Jodhpur.
  • In 1937, Gagan Singh, Maharaja of Bikaner, wrote a letter to Donald Field, Prime Minister of Jodhpur to remove the ban on the entrance of Jay Narayan Vyas.
  • Balmukund Bissa established Jawahar Khadi Bhandar in Jodhpur.
  • Jay Narayan Vyas wrote ‘Popa Bai Ki Poll’ and ‘Marwar Ki Awastha’.
  1. Bikaner Prajamandal
  • It was established by Vaidhya Mangharam in 1936 in Kolkata.
  • In 1942, Raghuvar Dayal Goyal established ‘Bikaner Rajya Lok Parishad’.
  • On 1 July 1946, in Rai Singh town, the rally was carried out by the member of this Praja Mandal. On which police started gunfire in which Birbal Singh named boy was killed.
  • Jaisalmer branch of Indira Gandhi Canal is called Birbal branch.
  1. Mewar Prajamandal
  • It was established by Manikyalal Verma in 1938 who was an active leader of Bijoliya Movement.
  • Manikyalal Verma met Rameshchandra Ojha and Laduram Vyas and told them to establish Shahpur Prajamandal.
  • Manikyalal wrote ‘Mewar Ka Vartamaan Shaashan’
  • In 1941, its first session took place which was attended by J.B. Kriplani and Vijaylaxmi Pandit in Udaipur.
  • Nathwada was the other centre of this Prajamandal.
  1. Bharatpur Prajamandal
  • It was established by Gulkishor Chaturvedi in Rewari in 1938.
  • Vaibhav was the name of the newspaper published by this Prajamandal.
  1. Sirohi Prajamandal
  • It was established by Gokulbhai Bhatt in Bombay in 1939.
  • Gokulbhai Bhatt is called Gandhi of Rajasthan.
  1. Baswada Prajamandal
  • It was established by Bhupendranath Trivedi, Dhulajibhai and Manishankar Nagar in 1943.
  • Bhupendranath Trivedi was publishing a newspaper named Sangram from Bombay.
  1. Dungarpur Prajamandal
  • It was established in 1944 by Bhogilal Pandya, Gaurishankar Acharya and Haridev Joshi.
  • In 1935, Bhogilal Pandya established Harijan Seva Samiti.
  • Manikyalal Verma established Bagad Seva Mandir in Dungarpur.
  1. Some other Prajamandal are as follows in the table-


Est. Year




Nainuram Sharma



Krishnadatta Paliwal, Mulchand and Jwala Prasad Jigyasu



Gokullal Asawa



Harinarayan Sharma and Kunjbihari



Kantilal Chauthani



Thakar Bappa

Download Free Pdf in English

Download Free Pdf in Hindi

State PCS के लिए Complete Free Study Notes, अभी Download करें

Download Free PDFs of Daily, Weekly & Monthly करेंट अफेयर्स in Hindi & English

NCERT Books तथा उनकी Summary की PDFs अब Free में Download करें 


write a comment

Follow us for latest updates