List of Chief Minister of UP & their Tenure Periods

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : Feb 3, 2022, 7:24

Established in the year 1950, Uttar Pradesh is the most populated state in India, with more than 200 million inhabitants. The state consists of 75 districts and 18 divisions, with Lucknow being the state capital. Uttar Pradesh is considered one of the most important states in India as it hands out 80 seats to the Lok Sabha’s lower house and 31 seats to the Rajya Sabha’s upper house. 

Politicians from this state have always played significant roles in the Union Government of India. Uttar Pradesh has enriched the Government of India by providing eight prime ministers. Needless to say, this state is home to incredible leaders of our country. In this article, we’ll learn about some of the most notable Chief Ministers of UP.

Role of a Chief Minister

A chief minister is the head of the council of a state government. They hold a pivotal position in the working of the State government and are the link between the Cabinet and the Governor. A chief minister holds great power as well as great responsibilities. They have to communicate to the Governor all decisions of the council of ministers. Apart from that, the chief minister also has to communicate with the inhabitants and all decisions and policies made by the state government.

List of Chief Ministers of Uttar Pradesh

As mentioned earlier in this article, Uttar Pradesh is the birthplace of many notable politicians. Here’s a UP CM list year wise that will enlighten you about the great politicians Uttar Pradesh is blessed with.

  • Govind Ballabh Pant (Years Active: 1950-1954)

Govind Ballabh Pant is a freedom fighter and the first UP CM who played a pivotal role in India’s independence movement as well as the Indian Government. After serving as the chief minister of UP, he also became Union Home Minister (1955-1961) and was awarded the Bharat Ratna in the following year.

  • Dr Sampurnanand (Years Active: 1954-1960)

Dr Sampurnanand was a politician and teacher in Uttar Pradesh who served as the state’s second chief minister. He was the first person who served in this position for six long years. 

  • Sucheta Kripalani (Years Active: 1963-1967)

Sucheta Kripalani is remembered for her active participation in India’s freedom movement. She was the first woman chief minister to serve the Government of Uttar Pradesh. 

  • Kamalapati Tripathi (Years Active: 1971-1973)

Kamalapati Tripathi is a freedom fighter who served the state of Uttar Pradesh for two years. Apart from being a successful politician, he was also a well-known journalist and writer.

  • Mulayam Singh Yadav (Years Active: 2003-2007)

Mulayam Singh is the 15th chief minister of Uttar Pradesh as well as the founding father of the Samajwadi Party. Apart from serving as a CM, he also served as a defence minister for the Indian Government.

  • Akhilesh Yadav (Years Active: 2012-2017)

Akhilesh Yadav is the 20th chief minister who served Uttar Pradesh at the age of 38, which makes him the youngest person to acquire that position. During his tenure, he focused on developing the power sector, allotting unemployment allowances, and modernizing the police force of the state. 

  • Yogi Adityanath (Years Active: 2017-Present)

Yogi Adityanath is the current chief minister of UP who has been serving the state since the year 2017. After acquiring the position of CM, Yogi imposed a ban on tobacco, paan, gutka in the state and compelled the officials to pledge 100 hours each year for the Swachh Bharat Mission. His successful missions earned him the title of ‘best performing chief minister in India’ in August 2020.

Uttar Pradesh is the highest populated state in India which indeed takes a lot of effort to handle. The chief ministers of Uttar Pradesh have successfully managed to handle the state all these years and enlisted their names in the impressive UP chief minister list in India.

More Current Affair Topics:
Sahitya Akademi AwardSamarpan Diwas
Most Polluted Cities in the WorldCyclone Name
Defence Minister of IndiaFounder of Google
National Anthem of IndiaNormal Human Body Temperature
Richest Man in the WorldSyed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

FAQs about UP CM list

  • Who is the Chief Minister of UP?

Yogi Adityanath is presently the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh. He has been serving UP since 2017.

  • Who Was the First CM of UP?

The first CM of UP was Govind Ballabh Pant who was also a freedom fighter. He became the chief minister in the year 1950.

  • Who Was the First Woman Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh?

The first woman chief minister of UP was Sucheta Kripalani, who also played a pivotal role in India’s independence movement.