List of Chief Minister of Maharashtra & their Tenure Periods

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : Feb 4, 2022, 10:03

Maharashtra is the richest and the second most populous state in India. Its capital Mumbai is known as the financial capital of India. Maharashtra was formed after the splitting of the Bombay State. Yashwantrao Chavan, serving as the third CM of Bombay State since 1956, became the first Chief Minister of Maharashtra. The current Chief Minister of Maharashtra is Uddhav Thackeray of the Shiv Shena.

Maharashtra CM List

Below is the CM list of Maharashtra:

S. No

Chief Minister




Uddhav Thackeray

28 November 2019 – Till Date

Shiv Sena


Devendra Fadnavis

23 November 2019 to 26 November 2019



Devendra Fadnavis

31 October 2014 to 8 November 2019



Prithviraj Chavan

11 November 2010 to 26 September 2014



Ashok Chavan

8 December 2008 to 9 November 2010



Vilasrao Deshmukh

1 November 2004 to 4 December 2008



Sushilkumar Shinde

18 January 2003 to 30 October 2004



Vilasrao Deshmukh

18 October 1999 to 16 January 2003



Narayan Rane

1 February 1999 to 17 October 1999

Shiv Sena (Sena BJP)


Manohar Joshi

14 March 1995 to 31 January 1999

Shiv Sena (Sena-BJP)


Sharad Pawar

6 March 1993 to 14 March 1995



Sudhakarrao Naik

25 June 1991 to 22 February 1993


Last Five Chief Ministers of Maharashtra

  • Vilasrao Deshmukh:

Vilasrao Deshmukh was the 14th Chief Minister of Maharashtra. He held the post for two terms: from 18 October 1999 to 16 January 2003 and again from 1 November 2004 to 5 December 2008. He subsequently entered the Rajya Sabha and later served as the Minister of Science and Technology and Earth Sciences.

  • Ashok Chavan:

Ashok Chavan is an influential leader of the Indian National Congress. He served as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra from 8 December 2008 to 9 November 2010. Chavan had served as the Minister for Cultural Affairs, Industries, Mines, and Protocol in the Vilasrao Deshmukh government. Currently, Chavan is serving as the Minister of Public Works (Excluding Public Undertakings) in the Government of Maharashtra.  

  • Devendra Fadnavis:

Devendra Fadnavis was the first Chief Minister of Maharashtra from the BJP. He served the post from 31 October 2014 to 8 November 2019. He took the second oath on 23 November 2019 but resigned just three days after stating the lack of BJP majority as the reason. Currently, he is the opposition leader in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.

  • Uddhav Thackeray:

Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray is the 19th and the current Chief Minister of Maharashtra. He took the oath after being elected as the president of the newly formed post-poll coalition Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi. The Pratunam Survey held in June 2021 singled him out as the most popular CM in 13-state approval ratings.

More Current Affair Topics:
Tamil Nadu CM ListUP CM list
Vitamins Chart ListAPMC Act
Freedom Fighters of IndiaHowrah Bridge
Indian grandmasterMadhubani Painting
Monalisa PaintingSardar Vallabhbhai Patel

FAQs about Maharashtra CM List

  • What is the Maharashtra CM's name?

Ans: Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray is the current Chief Minister of Maharashtra.

  • Who is the longest-serving Maharashtra CM?

Ans: Vasantrao Naik is the longest-serving Maharashtra CM (11 years 77 days).

  • Who is the youngest Maharashtra CM?

Ans: Sharad Pawar was the youngest Maharashtra CM at age 38.