Australian Open Winners List

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : Mar 3, 2022, 10:21

In January 2022, Rafael Nadal became the first male tennis player to win 21 Grand Slam titles and his 9th Australian Open title. Ashleigh Barty of Australia, who holds the number 1 position in the world tennis ranking, won the Women's title. Rafael Nadal beat Daniil Medvedev (Russia) with 2-6,6-7,6-4,6-4,7-5 to win the coveted title, whereas Ashleigh Barty defeated Danielle Collins of the US with 6-3, 7-6 to win. Barty claimed her 3rd Grand Slam title in the women's category. Rafael Nadal had also won the Australian Open in 2009.

Thanasi Kokkinakis and Nick Kyrgios won the Men's doubles in the same tournament. The women's doubles was won by Barbora Krejčkov and Kateřina Siniakov. Mixed doubles titles went to the winning pair of Kristina Mladenovic and Ivan Dodig. In 2021, Novak Djokovic and Naomi Osaka won the men's and women's titles, respectively. Djokovic could not play this year because he was detained and then deported from Australia for not meeting the Covid regulations. The country demanded proof of complete vaccination to enter the country. He was unvaccinated when he arrived.

The Australian Open title has been rotating between Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, and Rafael Nadal since 2004 except in 2005 and 2014 when Marat Safin (Russia) and Stan Wawrinka (Switzerland) won the tournament.

Held at Melbourne Park, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Australian Open 2022 was the 109th edition of the title and the first of the grand slam tournament of the year Australian Open 2022 also marked the beginning of the Grand Slam tournaments, which will end with the US Open to be played in August-September 2022 The next edition of the Australian Open will be held from January 16-29, 2023 Other tournaments in the Grand Slam episode viz French Open, also known as Roland Garros and Wimbledon will be played in May-June and June-July respectively.

Australian Open Tennis tournament, along with other tournaments of the Grand Slam, is played in five categories viz., Men's Singles, Women's Singles, Men's Doubles, Women's Doubles, and Mixed Doubles.

Australian Open Winners List

The Australian Open Winners List for the Year 2022 is as follows:

Australian Open 2022


Runners up

Men's Singles

Rafael Nadal (Spain)

Daniil Medvedev (Russia)

Women's Singles

Ashleigh Barty (Australia)

Danielle Collins (USA)

Men's Doubles

Nick Kyrgios (Australia), Thanasi Kokkinakis (Australia)

Matthew Ebden (Australia), Max Purcell (Australia)

Women's Doubles

Barbora Krejcikova (Czech), Katerina Siniakova (Czech)

Anna Danilina (Kazakhstan), Beatriz Haddad Maia (Brazil)

Mixed Doubles

Jaimee Fourlis (Australia), Jason Kubler (Australia)

Kristina Mladenovic (France), Ivan Dodig (Croatia)

The Australian Open tournament was started by the Lawn Tennis Association of Australasia (Australia) in the year 1905. It started as a Men's tournament, but the women's title was added from 1922 Until 1988. The tournaments were held in different parts of the country, such as Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, and Adelaide, after which it was played in Melbourne Park Melbourne every year.

Rodney Heath of Australia won the first Australian Open title in 1905, and Margaret Molesworth of Australia bagged the first women's title in 1922. Considered one of the biggest titles of the sport, the Australian Open is watched and followed by millions of fans across the globe.

More Current Affair Topics
National Vaccination DayOTT Platforms in India
Republic Day ParadeSAFF Championship
Svamitva SchemeTop 10 Banks in India
Top 10 Indian CompaniesUnited Nations Day
World Braille DayWorld Malaria Day

FAQs on Australian Open Winners List

Q.1) Who were the winners of the Australian Open Tennis tournament in 2022 in the men's and women's singles category?

Rafael Nadal (Australia) and Ashleigh Barty (Britain) won the Australian Open tournament in Men's singles and women's singles category.

Q.2) Where is the Australian Open Tennis tournament held?

In January, the Australian Open Tennis tournament is held in Melbourne (Australia) every year.

Q.3) Who holds the highest Grand Slam Titles?

Rafael Nadal became the first male tennis player to hold 21st Grand Slam titles after he won the Australian Open in 2022, leaving behind Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic, who holds 20 Grand Slam titles Pete Sampras and Roy Emerson hold 14 and 12 Grand Slam titles, respectively Margaret Court (Australia) has a record of 24 Grand Slams in the women category.

Q.4) What was the prize money for the Australian Open winners of the 2022 tournament?

The winners of the Australian Open 2022 went home with prize money of AUD 2.875. The total prize money for the tournament was AUD 75 million.