Who were the Members of the Drafting Committee of the Indian Constitution?

By Shivank Goel|Updated : September 5th, 2022

The Drafting Committee of the Indian Constitution were Alladi Krishnaswami Ayyar, N. Gopalaswami, B.R. Ambedkar, K.M Munshi, Mohammad Saadulla, B.L. Mitter, and D.P. Khaitan. It was established on August 29th, 1947.

The Drafting Committee collectively elected Dr. B.R Ambedkar as its Chairman, who shall lead them at its first meeting on 30 August 1947.

The Drafting Committee of the Indian Constitution

The longest Constitution in the world is the one that governs India. At the start, it contained eight schedules, twenty-two segments, and three hundred and ninety-five pieces. Its around 145,000 words make it the second-largest working constitution in the world. A preamble, twenty-five parts with twelve schedules, five appendices, four forty-eight articles, and one hundred and one amendments are currently included.

During the committee stages and the discussions of the Constituent Assembly, the Drafting Committee and its members had a significant impact on the development of the Indian constitution. The Draft Constitution(s) created by the Drafting Committee was the subject of the vast majority of discussions in the Constituent Assembly. 114 of the Constituent Assembly's 166 sessions were devoted to discussing the Draft Constitution(s).

Related Questions:-


write a comment


  • Dr. BR Ambedkar was the chairperson of the Drafting Committee of India.

  • Dr. BR Ambedkar is known as the father of the Indian Constitution.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates