Who was the head of the interim government?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 5th, 2022

Jawaharlal Nehru was the head of the interim government. The vice-president of the Council of Ministers, held by Jawaharlal Nehru, the leader of the Interim Cabinet established in 1946, is given the prime minister's authority.

Head of the Interim Government

  • Between an imperial organization and a democratic structure, the Interim Government was established as a temporary administration.
  • It existed until August 15, 1947, when India attained independence and was divided into Pakistan and India.
  • The August 1946-elected Constituent Assembly established this Interim Government.
  • The provincial assemblies chose representatives in a non-direct election for the Constituent Assembly.
  • The Indian National Congress (INC) obtained a majority in these elections by winning about 69% of the seats.
  • The Muslim League won 73 seats, while the Congress Party won 208.
  • The Viceroy's Executive Council served as the Interim Government's version of the Council of Ministers, which served as the executive.
  • Its Vice President and de facto Prime Minister was Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru.
  • Despite the Muslim League's initial opposition to the Interim Government and insistence on its demand for an independent country, it eventually joined it.
  • The League was "entering the Interim Government to acquire a foothold to struggle for the cherished aim of Pakistan," in Muhammad Ali Jinnah's words.


Who was the head of the interim government?

The country's interim leader was Jawaharlal Nehru. The leader of the 1946-established Interim Cabinet, Jawaharlal Nehru, served as vice-president of the Council of Ministers, which has the same powers as the prime minister.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates