Who removes the Election Commissioner?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 3rd, 2022

The Chief Election Commissioner can be removed by the President of India for disorderly conduct or incapacity with a two-thirds majority vote against him from both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha. The Election Commissioners are the members of the Election Commission of India, usually retired IAS or IRS officers.

About Election Commission of India

  • The Election Commission of India is a constitutional body that regulates elections in the country.
  • It includes elections to the offices of the President and Vice-President of India, Parliament, State Legislative Assemblies, and Legislative councils.
  • The power is derived from Article 324 of the Constitution of India.
  • The commission issues the Code of Conduct for the elections and provides guidelines for the conduct of political parties and candidates during an election period.

About Election Commissioner

  • The Election Commission currently consists of a Chief Election Commissioner and two additional election commissioners.
  • The Election Commissioners are appointed by the President of India, by a tenure of 6 years or upto the age of 65 years.
  • The Chief Election Commissioner is entitled to the same salary as is provided to a Supreme Court Judge.
  • V. S. Ramadevi was the first woman to become Chief Election Commissioner of India
  • Shri Rajiv Kumar is the present Chief Election Commissioner of India


Who removes the Election Commissioner?

The President of India can remove Chief Election Commissioner. The two additional election commissioners can be removed by the President of India on the recommendation of the Chief Election Commissioner.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates