Who Proposed the Five Kingdom System of Classification and How?

By Shivank Goel|Updated : September 5th, 2022

The five-kingdom system of classification in organisms was proposed by Robert Whittaker in 1969. The five kingdoms proposed by Robert Whittaker are:

  • Kingdom Monera
  • Kingdom Protista
  • Kingdom Fungi
  • Kingdom Plantae
  • Kingdom Animalia

Robert Whittaker introduced all the five kingdoms in organisms based on their complexity of cell structures, body structures, mode of obtaining nutrition, and ecological lifestyle.

System of Classification

Based on the number of living organisms present on Earth, not to mention the various types of them, it is utterly impossible to identify them without a proper classification system. Therefore, to make things more organized and easy to understand, the classification system was introduced in all fields. This led to the classification of organized kingdoms of organisms.

Robert Whittaker introduced the five kingdom classifications of organisms based on the cell structures, body structures, mode of obtaining nutrition, thallus organization, reproduction, and phylogenetic relationships. The various kingdoms were differentiated on the following basis:

  • Kingdom Monera- includes prokaryotes.
  • Kingdom Protista- includes unicellular eukaryotes.
  • Kingdom Fungi- includes fungi.
  • Kingdom Plantae- includes multicellular eukaryotic plants.
  • Kingdom Animalia- includes multicellular animals.

Related Questions:-


write a comment


  • Robert Whittaker introduced the system of classification based on five kingdoms in organisms in 1969.

  • The five kingdoms of organisms are Kingdom Monera, Kingdom Protista, Kingdom Fungi & Kingdom Plantae.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates