Who is the Only Indian to Win Nobel Prize in Physics?

By Raj Vimal|Updated : July 8th, 2022

Dr. Chandrashekhar Venkata Raman or C.V. Raman was the first and only physicist from India to win the Nobel Physics Prize in 1930. The Nobel Prize was given to him for his work in the scattering of light and the discovery of the effect named after him. This discovery is popularly known as Raman Effect.

Earlier, Rabindra Nath Tagore was the first Indian who won the Nobel prize. He was awarded Nobel Prize for his book Geetanjali in the year 1913.

Interesting Facts about C.V.Raman

  • He earned his B.A. degree in the year 1904 from Presidency College, University of Madras, at the age of 16.
  • He won gold medals in Physics and English both. 
  • Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar, nephew of C.V Raman also won the Nobel prize in physics in 1983.
  • He established the Raman Research Institute in Bengaluru, Karnataka.
  • Some of his early work focused on music and phonetics, which in various ways paved the way for him to uncover some of the processes behind the light-based phenomenon.


Who is The Only Indian to Win Nobel Prize in Physics?

Dr. Chandrashekhar Venkata Raman was one of the greatest physicists of India who won the Nobel prize in Physics for the discovery of the scattering of light in the year 1930. He is also the first Asian who won the Nobel in Physics.

Who was The First Indian Woman to Get the Nobel Prize?

Which Rulers was not a Proponent of Buddhism?

Who Was The First Governor General of Free India?

How Many Latitudes and Longitudes are There?


write a comment

Who is the Only Indian to Win Nobel Prize in Physics FAQs

  • Dr. Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman was the first Asian and Indian Scientist who got the Nobel Prize in Physics. C V Raman got the Nobel Prize in 1930 for discovering the Raman Effect.

  • India celebrates National Science Day on 28 February every year. This day marks the discovery of the Raman effect by C.V. Raman on 28 February 1928.

Follow us for latest updates