Who is the Chairperson of Municipal Corporation?

By Shivank Goel|Updated : September 6th, 2022

The chairperson of the municipal corporation is the Mayor. Although in the majority of Indian states and territories, the Municipal Commissioner has executive authority, making the Mayor's position mostly ceremonial. The Mayor's office combines a ceremonial duty as the city's First Citizen with a functional role of presiding over Corporation meetings. A Deputy Mayor is chosen by the Mayor in accordance with the Municipal Corporation Act of 1888, as amended. The Mayor and Deputy Mayor each have a five-year term in office. Mayors are directly chosen by the populace in seven states, including Haryana, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, and Uttarakhand, and as a result, they have the authority to run municipal corporations.

The Municipal Corporation

A municipal corporation is in charge of managing urban areas having a population of more than a million people. A local governance structure that could provide services like healthcare, housing, education, and transportation by collecting taxes on property and managing funding from the state government was required as a result of India's expanding urbanisation and population.

The municipal corporation operates its several divisions and departments in a well-organized manner. As an illustration, consider the Education Department, Housing Board, and Electricity Department. People with experience and qualifications oversee every one of these Departments. The 74th Amendment Act underlines the provisions that allow for the formation of such urban local governance structures and their activities.

Related Questions:-


write a comment


  • In India, local level governments are known as municipal corporations. It goes by several other names, including Nagar Nigam, Mahanagar Palika, Nagar Palika, and City Corporation, etc.

  • Yes, a Mayor is the same as a Chairman. He/She is the head of a Municipal Corporation while a Chairman is the head of a Municipal Committee. They’re both the first citizens of the city.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates