Who has framed the Constitution of India?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 1st, 2022

The Constitution of India was framed under Dr B. R. Ambedkar's chairmanship on August 29, 1947. The chief drafter of the Constitution in the Constituent Assembly was S. N Mukherjee. Several other design committee members include Alladi Krishnaswamy Ayyar, Dr K. M. Munshi, N Goppalaswamy Ayyangar, Syed Mohammed Saadullah, N Madhava Rau and TT Krishnamachari.

Framing of the Indian Constitution

  • The Constitution of India is the supreme law of India.
  • The document establishes a framework that defines the basic structure, political code, procedures, duties and powers of government institutions, and the citizen's basic directive principles, rights, and duties.
  • It is the longest written national constitution in the world.
  • It granted constitutional supremacy (not parliamentary as the Constituent Assembly, not Parliament, curated it) and was adopted by the people with a declaration in the preamble.
  • The parliament cannot override the constitution.
  • B. R. Ambedkar and the Constitution of India on a 2015 postage stamp of India
  • It was adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India on 26 November 1949 and came into force on 26 January 1950.
  • The Constitution replaced the Government of India Act 1935 as the primary governing document of the country, and the Indian Dominion became the Indian republic.
  • To ensure autochthony of the constitution, its framers repealed previous acts of the British Parliament in Article 395.
  • India celebrates its constitution on January 26 as Republic Day.


Who has framed the Constitution of India?

The Constituent Assembly framed the constitution of India under the chairmanship of Dr B R Ambedkar on August 29, 1947.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates