Who are Adivasis?

By Mandeep Kumar|Updated : September 5th, 2022

Adivasis are the original inhabitants who live in close association with forests. There are more than 500 Adivasis groups in India. They make up 8% of the Indian population. The major Adivasis areas in India are Jameshdpur, Bokaro, Rourkela, Bhilai, etc. They practice a range of tribal religions which is completely different from Hinduism, Muslim, Christianity, etc.

More About Adivasis

The key points related to Adivasis in India are given below:

  • They have a very distinct society as there is very little hierarchy among them.
  • They are different from the communities established around the principle of caste.
  • Adivasis involves in the worshipping of ancestors, villages, nature spirits, etc.
  • They have their own language radically different and as old as Sanskrit.

Related Questions:-


write a comment


  • Any of the various ethnic groups considered to be the original inhabitants of the Indian subcontinent are called Adivasis.

  • The Indian states in which Adivasis are maximum in number are Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Andhra Pradesh, West Bengal, northeastern states of Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, and Nagaland.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates