Which three countries surround the Indian state?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 6th, 2022

3 Indian states share international borders with 3 countries: Sikkim, West Bengal, and Arunachal Pradesh. A territory (or a portion of it) encircled by another state's territory is known as an enclave. Territorial seas may also contain enclaves. Sometimes an area only partially surrounded by another state is wrongly referred to as an enclave.

Indian State Surrounding Three Countries

The word enclave is French and first appeared in the mid-15th century as a derivative of the verb enclave (1283), from the colloquial Latin enclave (to lock with a key).

  • A portion of a state or district geographically separated from the central part by adjacent foreign territory is known as an exclave (one or more states or districts, etc.).
  • Exclaves can be surrounded by the territory of many states, albeit not all are enclaves.
  • For example, suppose A1 is a semi-enclave bordered by water that only touches C's territorial waters and is connected to C.
  • Despite being an exclave of A, A2, which has borders with both B and C, it cannot be categorized as an enclave.
  • Territory A3 is Territory A's exclave and Territory B's enclave. They are
  • Sikkim - Bhutan in the east, China in the north, and Nepal in the west.
  • West Bengal - Bangladesh to the east, Nepal to the north, and Bhutan to the northeast.
  • Arunachal Pradesh - Myanmar to the east, China to the north, and Bhutan to the west


Which three countries surround the Indian state?

The 3 Indian states surrounded by three countries are Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim, and West Bengal. These states connect Nepal, China, Bangladesh, Myanmar, and Bhutan.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates