Which Meridian is Fixed as a Standard Meridian of India?

By Sakshi Yadav|Updated : July 28th, 2022

The Indian standard time is calculated on the ground of 82.5°E longitude, which is located in the Mirzapur district of Uttar Pradesh which falls in the middle of the eastern and western longitudinal of India. The standard meridian of India passes in Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Orissa, and Andhra Pradesh. There are various time zones in India to make people understand clearly about the time if all the time zones are viewed as the standard meridian then it will become difficult for people to understand. 


Which Meridian is Fixed as a Standard Meridian of India?

To describe the time of the country standard meridian is used. It is longitude that is fixed for the whole nation. But standard meridian varies from country to country as per different measures of longitude. Because of the standard meridian, all the clocks are synchronized and every citizen of the country follows the same clock but this differs in other countries. For example- If it is night in India and in some neighboring countries and it is 10 PM in India there will be some different time zone in other neighboring countries. This happens because of the difference in the standard meridian.

Related Links:


write a comment

Follow us for latest updates