Which is the Standard Meridian of India?

By Harshal Vispute|Updated : July 1st, 2022

The meridian or longitude used to define a country's time is called the "standard meridian." All over the nation, the standard meridian is fixed. In accordance with the various methods of measuring longitude, the standard meridian varies for every nation. Mirzapur, Uttar Pradesh, is the point where the Indian meridian runs. 

The nation as a whole recognizes it as the standard time. As of 82°30'E, the longitude begins. All of the clocks in India are synced with the meridian that serves as its standard. We all keep the same time by using the Indian meridian as a reference. Each nation observes a unique time zone and uses a separate standard meridian, like India. Different locations have different local times. The local times of Dibrugarh in Assam and Dwarka in Gujarat differ by around 1 hour and 45 minutes in India. As a result, the local time of a country's central meridian must be adopted as the nation's standard time. As the standard meridian, 82° 30'E longitude is used. The local time indicated or mentioned at this meridian is regarded as the national standard time. This is called the Indian Standard Time.

For example,

There would be some discrepancy in the time zone of the other adjacent nations if it is morning in India and some of its neighbors and it is 5 AM in India. This occurs as a result of the different standard meridians.

The Indian Standard Meridian Passes Through Five States.

The standard meridian of India passes through the following states: 

  • Uttar Pradesh
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Chattisgarh
  • Orissa
  • Andhra Pradesh

Which is the Standard Meridian of India?

India's Standard Meridian, which runs through Mirzapur in Uttar Pradesh at a longitude of 82°30'E, is regarded as the reference point for the nation's standard time. Instead of utilizing solar time or a locally selected meridian (longitude) to produce a local mean time standard, standard time is defined as the synchronization of clocks within a specific geographical region to a single standard time.

Every country has a standard meridian set so that it serves as the country's longitude center and that everyone there experiences the same time.

☛ Related Questions:


write a comment

Which is the Standard Meridian of India FAQ's

  • There are several distinct time zones in India, thus it will be quite confusing for everyone if all of them are regarded as being on the same Meridian. There will be a lot of confusion for everyone as a result of the combined train, flight, and shared work schedules. In India, fewer individuals would acquire the concept of several time zones.

  • The states of Uttar Pradesh, Orissa, Andra Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, and Chattisgarh are all along India's standard meridian.

Follow us for latest updates