Which is the smallest continent in the world?

By Ritesh|Updated : December 8th, 2022

Australia is the smallest continent in the world regarding the area. The continent's area is 7,686,884 square kilometers, making it a little smaller than the 5th largest country in the world. Antarctica is the smallest continent when you talk about the population. It was also known as the Oceanic continent for long periods. It is scarcely populated because the whole continent is covered with dense ice.

Smallest Continent in the World

Out of the seven continents of the world, the smallest continent in the world is Australia. It is so big that the country is the 6th largest in the world. It is slightly smaller than the European continent. James Cook discovered the Inland in 1770 AD. The continent has 23 small Inland countries, except for Australia.

The Tropic of Capricorn passed through it. Australia has all the natural geographical features like mountains, rivers, deserts, wetlands, natural minerals, and other important features. It is part of the world's oldest land mass, Gondwana land. Let's look at the important facts about the smallest continent in the world, Australia:

  • Australia lies in the southern hemisphere of the earth. It is the only continent that is surrounded by the ocean.
  • Most of the countries in the Australian continent are islands.
  • Australia has a Great Barrier Reef in the Coral sea, Australia.
  • On one side, it is surrounded by the Indian Ocean, and on the other, it has a pacific ocean.
  • Australia is the largest country that shares no land boundary with any other country.
  • Australia is the smallest one, and Asia is the largest of all. The continents are: Asia, Africa, Europe, North America, South America, Australia, Antarctica

☛ Related Questions:


write a comment

FAQs on smallest continent in the world

  • The answer depends on the criteria. Australia is the smallest when it comes to area, whereas Antarctica is the smallest when it comes to population. In technical terms, Antarctica is scarcely populated. Australia's continent comprises 22 small Islands and one 6th largest country in the world i.e., Australia.

  • There is seven continent in the whole world. The largest among these are Asia and Africa. The list goes down to Australia. The sequence of the continents is Asia-> Africa-> North America-> South America-> Antarctica-> Europe-> Australia.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates