Which is the Largest (Area Wise) Union Territory In India?

By Sakshi Yadav|Updated : August 2nd, 2022

Jammu and Kashmir is the largest Union Territory in India with an area of 125,535 km2 followed by Ladakh(96701) and Andaman and the Nicobar (8249). J&k has become a Union territory since 31 October 2019 before that Andaman and Nicobar were the largest UT. Jammu and Kashmir is referred to as being a part of Indian-held Kashmir (IOK) by the Government of Pakistan whereas according to Indian government the region governed by Pakistan is referred to as Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (POK). Azad Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan, which are administered by Pakistan, are divided from Jammu and Kashmir in the west and north by the Line of Control. Jammu and Kashmir is named after the two regions it contains the Jammu region and the Kashmir valley. 

Largest and Smallest Union Territory in India in terms of Area

Jammu and Kashmir is the largest union territory in India in terms of area which covers 125,535 km2 of land area whereas the smallest UT in India by area wise. The list of union territories in terms of area is given below:

S.NO.Union Territory NameArea (km2)
1Jammu and Kashmir


3Andaman and Nicobar Islands8,249


5Dadra and Nagar Haveli & Daman and Diu603


Which is the Largest (Area Wise) Union Territory In India?

The largest (area-wise) Union Territory in India is Jammu and Kashmir which covers 125,535 km2 of land area. The legislature will be unicameral and assembly seats shall be 114, including 4 Rajya Sabha seats and 5 Lok Sabha seats.

Related Links:


write a comment


UP StateUPPSC PCSVDOLower PCSPoliceLekhpalBEOUPSSSC PETForest GuardRO AROJudicial ServicesAllahabad HC RO ARO RecruitmentOther Exams

Follow us for latest updates