Which Indian States are Under AFSPA?

By Shivank Goel|Updated : August 19th, 2022

There are many Indian states under AFSPA. These above provinces are reported as "disturbed areas" under AFSPA. The Special Powers Act of Armed Forces, 1958 expands to the following areas:

Central Government Regions

State Government Regions


Manipur State, excluding the Imphal Municipal

Changlang, Longding, and Tirap provinces of Arunachal Pradesh (Within the jurisdiction of four police stations) along the border of Assam


AFSPA Act and Its Latest Recent News

AFSPA, or the Armed Forces Special Powers Act or is a regulation enacted by the Indian Parliament that gives special powers and controls to the Armed Forces over any state or community which might be described as a "disturbed area" as per Special Courts Act, 1976.

AFSPA Act has recently been released from several districts like Assam due to the improved law and order conditions and peace agreements with militant corporations in the state.

Related Questions:-


write a comment

FAQs on Which Indian States are under AFSPA?

  • The Indian states under AFSPA are Jammu and Kashmir, Nagaland, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, and Manipur.

  • AFSPA evolved a law on September 11, 1958. Initially, it was functional in the seven Northeastern states of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, and Tripura.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates