Where is the Headquarters of the International Olympic Committee? 

By Devyani Singh|Updated : June 23rd, 2022

The headquarter of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) is based in Lausanne, Switzerland. The International Olympic Committee is a non-governmental sports organisation that has been constituted in an association under the Swiss Civil Code (articles 60–79). It was founded in 1894 by Pierre de Coubertin and Demetrios Vikelas. This authority is responsible for organising the modern (Summer, Winter, and Youth) Olympic Games.

What is the International Olympic Committee?

The headquarter of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) is located in Lausanne, Switzerland. The IOC acts as the governing body for the National Olympic Committees (NOCs) as well as the worldwide "Olympic Movement".

 As of 2020, there are 206 NOCs officially recognised by the IOC. The current president of the IOC is Thomas Bach.

The stated objective of the International Olympic Committee is primarily to promote the Olympics throughout the world and to propagate the Olympic Movement:

  • Encouraging and supporting the organisation, its development, and the coordination of sport and numerous sports competitions
  • Ensuring the regular celebration of the Games
  • Cooperating with the public/private organisations and authorities in the venture of placing sport at par with the acts of service of humanity and by extension, promoting peace
  • Protesting and acting against any form of discrimination affecting the Olympic Movement
  • Encouraging and promoting women in sport (at all levels and in all structures) with a view of equality above all.


write a comment

PO, Clerk, SO, Insurance


Follow us for latest updates