When did the Indian National Congress split?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 4th, 2022

The Indian National Congress split in the Surat session in 1907. The Surat Split was the split (INC) of the Indian National Congress into two groups – moderates and extremists. The Indian National Congress was founded when about 72 delegates from across the country met in Bombay in 1885.

Indian National Congress

  • Prominent delegates included Surendranath Banerjee, Dadabhai Naoroji, Badruddin Tyabji, Ramaswami Mudaliar, Pherozeshah Mehta W. C. Bonnerjee, S. S. Subramania, and Romesh Chunder Dutt. A former British civil servant, Englishman Allan Octavian Hume, was one of the founding members of the Indian National Congress.
  • Hume assumed the office of General Secretary, and Womesh Chunder Bonnerjee of Calcutta was elected President.


  • They used petitions, prayers, meetings, leaflets, pamphlets, memoranda, and delegations to present their demands to the British government.
  • Expansion of the Legislative Council by the Indian Councils Act, 1892


  • They believed in agitation, strikes, and boycotts.
  • They included lower-middle class people.
  • They opposed British imperialistic policies in India.
  • They sacrificed everything, including life, for the cause of the motherland.
  • British goods and national education were boycotted, which brought about a major change in the country's economy and gave way to employment and various other opportunities for Indians.


When did the Indian National Congress split?

The Indian National Congress was split into moderates and extremists in 1907 at the Surat session. On 28 December 1885, the Indian National Congress was founded at the Gokuldas Tejpal Sanskrit College in Bombay with 72 delegates.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates