What is a Concurrent List?

By Shivank Goel|Updated : August 25th, 2022

The Concurrent List that appears in the Indian Constitution, also known as List-III, is a list of 52 subjects given in the Seventh Schedule to the Constitution of India. The legislative section of the Indian Constitution is actually divided into three parts: Union list, State list, and Concurrent list.

The inclusion of the Concurrent list in the Indian Constitution is actually inspired by the Constitution of Australia. It actually contains subjects that are of interest to both the Union as well as States.

Concurrent List in Detail

The Constitution of India mentions certain provisions with respect to the division of power between the State and the Central Government. The Concurrent List provides power to both the Central and State Governments through the subjects mentioned in it. The subjects mentioned in the Concurrent List are: Education including technical education, medical education and universities, population control and family planning, criminal law, prevention of cruelty to animals, protection of wildlife and animals, forests, etc.

Both Central and State Governments can pass laws with respect to any of these subjects but in case of a conflict, the law made by the Central Government must prevail.

Related Questions:-


write a comment


  • The Concurrent List of the Indian Constitution mentions 52 subjects.

  • In case of a conflict, the final law passed by the Central Government prevails.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates