What is written in Ashoka Pillar?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 7th, 2022

The inscriptions and decrees under his rule make up the Ashoka Pillar. They are listed below. The first Pillar Edict outlines Ashoka's guiding philosophy of protecting his people. The second pillar edict defines the dhamma as having few sins, many virtues, liberality, purity, and truthfulness.

Significance and Edicts of Ashoka Pillar

  • 3rd Pillar Edict: Eliminates the sins of harshness, cruelty, rage, pride, etc.
  • 4th Pillar Edict: Lists Rajukas' responsibilities.

A full list of animals and birds that should not be slaughtered on specific days is provided in Pillar Edict 5, along with a separate list of creatures that should not be killed.

  • Pillar sixth edict: Dhamma policy.
  • Pillar Edict 7: Asoka's contributions to developing the Dhamma policy.

Minor inscriptions on pillars:

  • The inscription on the Rummindei Pillar tells the story of Ashoka's journey to Lumbini, the birthplace of the Buddha, and how he spared Lumbini from paying any additional taxes.
  • The Nigalisagar Pillar Inscription in Nepal describes how Ashoka doubled the size of the Buddha Konagamana stupa.

Significant Pillar Inscription:

  • Ashoka constructed the Sarnath Lion Capital, close to Varanasi, to honor the Dharmachakrapravartana or Buddha's first discourse.


What is written in Ashoka Pillar?

The inscriptions written in the Ashoka Pillar, which are the first concrete proof of Buddhism, are dispersed over the regions of modern-day Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Afghanistan, and Pakistan.

  • The text inscribed on the columns is mainly conventional.
  • The scriptures collectively known as the Edicts of Ashoka are composed of the inscriptions on the pillars and other, more frequent Ashokan inscriptions on natural rock faces.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates