What is the Quorum of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha?

By Shivank Goel|Updated : September 6th, 2022

The quorum of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha is one-tenth of the total strength of each house. The quorum refers to the bare minimum of members needed for a house to be able to conduct business. The central government's legislative body is the union parliament. Rajya Sabha, the Lok Sabha, and the president make up the Union Parliament.

How does a Quorum Work?

A 10% of the total number of members of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha must agree to call a sitting of the House.

  • The Speaker must adjourn the House or put the meeting on hold until there is quorum if the required number is not present.
  • The Constitution established a quorum of one-tenth of the total number of members for both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha. The duration of a member's term is six years.
  • Casual vacancies, wherever they arise, are only replaced for the remaining term through byelections.

Related Questions:-


write a comment


  • According to Article 100 of the Indian Constitution, a quorum for a session of either House of Parliament must consist of at least 10% of the total number of members.

  • The Rajya Sabha can have a maximum of 250 members. At the moment, it has an allotted strength of 245. From this number, 233 have been chosen by state and union territory electorates and 12 are presidential nominees.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates