What is the rank of the prime minister in India?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 1st, 2022

The rank of the prime minister in India is registered in a list of protocol officials and authorities known as the order of Precedence. The Ministry of Home Affairs upholds the order, which was put into place by the President of India.

Prime Ministers in India

The list places India's prime minister third overall. Below are listed the first 10 officials and authorities in order of rank.

  • President
  • Vice-President.
  • Chief Executive.
  • States' governors within their States.
  • Previous presidents - Chief Justice of India, Deputy Prime Minister. The Lok Sabha's speaker
  • Ministers in the Union Cabinet. Chief Ministers of each State inside that State. Vice-Chairman of the Planning Commission, ex-prime minister, and opposition party leaders in both the Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha. 7A- *Occupants of the Bharat Ratna honor.
  • Chief Ministers of States outside their respective States, as well as Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary Ambassadors, High Commissioners, and High Representatives of Commonwealth nations accredited to India.
  • Judges of the Supreme Court, governors of states other than their own, Chief Election Commissioner, section 9A.
  • Comptroller and Auditor General of India. Chief Election Commissioner.
  • Vice-Chairman of the Rajya Sabha and Vice-Chairmen of the States' Cabinets.


What is the rank of the prime minister in India?

The level of the Indian prime minister is listed in the order of precedence, which is a list of protocol officers and authority. The President of India implemented the order, which the Ministry of Home Affairs upholds.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates