What is the jurisdiction of Lokpal?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 1st, 2022

The jurisdiction of the Lokpal includes The Prime Minister, Ministers, Members of Parliament, Groups A, B, C, and D officers, and Central Government officials. The purpose of enacting such a law is to eliminate corruption throughout the Indian political system.

Jurisdiction of Lokpal Under Government of India

In the Indian Republic, the Lokpal is a body of ombudsmen or an anti-corruption institution representing the general public's interests.

  • Pradip Kumar Mohanty serves as Lokpal's current Chairman.
  • Inquiries into corruption charges in the case of the central government's public officials and other matters involving corruption are subject to the Lokpal's jurisdiction.
  • Following Anna Hazare's Jan Lokpal agitation in 2011, the Lokpal and Lokayuktas Act was amended in parliament and approved in 2013.
  • At the federal level, the Lokpal looks into allegations of corruption, while Lokayukta is in charge of doing so at the state level.
  • The Lokpal (chairperson's or member's) age on the day they take office as a chairperson or member should be at least 45 years old.
  • The Lokpal Bill allows allegations of corruption in the case of the other ministers, prime minister, MPs, and group A, B, C, and D personnel of the central government to be filed with the ombudsman.
  • The first Administrative Reforms Commission (ARC) advocated for the creation of the Lokpal Office because they believed it was necessary to stop citizens' perceptions of unfairness and boost public confidence in the effectiveness of the administrative system.


What is the jurisdiction of Lokpal?

The Lokpal has authority over the Prime Minister, Members of Parliament, Ministers, Groups A, B, C, and D officers, as well as employees of the Central Government. The reason for enacting it is to remove corruption in the political system of India.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates