What is the current five-year plan?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 3rd, 2022

The Indian government, under the direction of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, ended the Planning Commission's system of five-year plans in 2015. NITI Aayog took over as the Planning Commission's replacement.

  • The final five-year plan was the 12th, from 2012 to 2017.
  • The Planning Commission had a significant role in Indian policymaking and governance, even though it is no longer in operation (since the NITI Aayog succeeded it).

Five-Year Plan of the Indian Government

The following were listed as the Planning Commission's responsibilities in the 1950 resolution creating it:

Planning Commission Functions:

  • Analyze the nation's financial, material, and human resources, particularly its technical workforce, and research ways to improve them to advance the country;
  • Create a plan to use the nation's resources in the most balanced and efficient manner possible;
  • Establish the phases in which the Plan shall be implemented and propose allocating funding to each phase's completion;
  • Identify the barriers to economic growth and determine the circumstances that should be created for the Plan's successful execution, given the current social and political climate.
  • Periodically evaluate the success made in putting the Plan into action at each step, and suggest any policy changes or other activities that the evaluation may feel appropriate;


What is the current five-year plan?

The current five-year plan system used by the Planning Commission was abolished by the Indian government in 2015, on the orders of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. NITI Aayog replaced the Planning Commission. The 12th five-year plan, which covered 2012 to 2017, was the last one.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates