What is the classification of Tribal Communities?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 4th, 2022

Tribal communities are classified as permanent features and acquired features. A tribe is a group of people who live and work together in a shared geographic area. They share a common culture, dialect, and religion. They also have a strong sense of unity.

Classification of Tribal Communities

Tribal communities are classified as:

Permanent properties:

  • They have language, region, ecological habitat, and physical characteristics.
  • Ecological habitats include rural plains, hills, urban industrial areas, and forests.
  • Based on language, tribes are divided into 4 categories.
  • Two are Indo-Aryan and Dravidian, and Tibeto-Burman and Austrian are the other.
  • From a physical racial point of view, the tribes are divided into Negrito, Dravidian, Australoid, Aryan, and Mongoloid.
  • In terms of size, the strains vary greatly.
  • The largest tribes are the Santhals, Gonds, Bhils, Oranoni, Bodas, Minas, and Mundas.

Acquired properties:

  • It consists of two categories, such as
  • Mode of livelihood – According to the source of livelihood, they are classified as hunters and food gatherers, fishermen, farmers, cultivators, planters, and industrial workers.
  • Extent of assimilation - tribes incorporated into Hindu society through Sanskritization, cultivation, and adoption of the Shudra tribe. They were incorporated into society of Hindu according to their attitudes and financial status.


What is the classification of Tribal Communities?

The tribal communities are divided into acquired traits and permanent traits. A group of people who live and work together in a shared geographic area is called a trait.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates