What is the Capital of Jammu and Kashmir?

By Esha Dhawan|Updated : June 27th, 2022

Jammu and Kashmir is a union territory of India located in the northern half of the Indian subcontinent. What’s interesting about this union territory is that it has two capitals! The summer capital of Jammu and Kashmir between the months of May to October is Srinagar and the winter capital is Jammu that is active between the months of November till April. Are you wondering why are there two capitals of this union territory? Let’s find out.

Why are there Two Capitals of Jammu and Kashmir?

This practice of having two different capitals was initiated by the Dogra king almost a century ago in order to escape the harsh weather conditions in the winter season. While Srinagar is one of the most strategic places to have as a capital and control the working of the whole state, it also becomes geographically challenging during the winter months. In fact, the national highways are blocked due to landslides and it becomes difficult to govern the city from there. Therefore, during the summer months, the capital of Jammu and Kashmir is shifted to Jammu.



Capital of Jammu and Kashmir

There are two capitals of Jammu and Kashmir - Srinagar and Jammu. Srinagar is the capital during summer months but it has extreme weather conditions and geographical challenges like landslides during winters. Thus, the capital of Jammu and Kashmir is shifted to Jammu during the winter season. 


☛ Related Questions:

What is the Capital of Australia?

Which City is Known as the Manchester of India?

Fort Gloster is Located in (a) West Bengal (b) California (c) Gujarat



write a comment


  • The capital of Jammu and Kashmir in the months from November to April is Jammu as it is the winter capital of the union territories. This is a strategic move as Srinagar witnesses extreme conditions during the winter months.

  • The capital of Jammu and Kashmir in the summer months from May to October is Srinagar. It is the best place as it is easier to govern and control the functional working of the entire UT from here.

SSC & Railway

CGLSSC GDDFCCILCHSLCPONTPCMTSStenoGroup DDelhi PoliceOthersCoursesMock Test

Follow us for latest updates