What is meant by linguistic states?

By Ritesh|Updated : November 11th, 2022

Linguistic states mean that the states are divided on the basis of their regional languages. This is because India has many languages. Therefore, the regions are divided according to languages for better and more effective management. For instance, numerous additional languages were included under Hindi, including Bhojpuri, Magadhi, Bundelkhand, Chhattisgarhi, Rajasthani, and Bhili. 114 main languages were discovered in the Census, even after this classification.

Linguistic States

Initially, states were grouped based on political and historical developments. However, in 1956, following the advice of the Fazal Ali commission,

Six union territories and 14 states were created as a result of the 1956 State Reorganisation Act. The most noteworthy suggestion was the creation of linguistic states to reorganise states on the premise of accommodating their languages. In order to create a common foundation for the nation, the government began to reorganise the states on a linguistic or cultural basis. The country's unity has been improved by this linguistic restructuring, but it has also presented certain difficulties.


What is meant by linguistic states?

State divisions based on regional languages are known as linguistic states. This is due to India's diverse linguistic landscape. The regions are divided based on languages for effective and good management.


write a comment

CDS & Defence Exams

CDSCAPFAFCATTA ExamACC ExamOther ExamsPracticePreparation

Follow us for latest updates