What are the types of law?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 7th, 2022

All types of law have far-reaching effects and help shape politics, economics, and society in many ways. India has a federal judicial system, and there are four types of law in the Indian judicial system. Law is a group of rules formed and enforceable by social or governmental institutions to handle behavior.

Types Of Law in the Legal System

Common law:

  • Any laws or rules intended to enforce specific pledges are included in the field of contract law.
  • In Australia, "common law" serves as the primary source of contract law, but more and more statutes are being added to it, particularly in consumer protection.

Statutory law:

  • Written legislation enacted by a legislative body is known as a statute or statutory law.
  • It is against oral law, customary law, regulatory legislation issued by the executive branch, and common law jurisprudence.
  • Legislative bodies may enact federal, State, or local laws.

Criminal law:

  • Individual jurisdictions within the Commonwealth of Australia typically oversee the administration of Australian criminal law.
  • Only a small amount of criminal behavior is reserved for the Commonwealth Government to pursue, leaving the majority up to the states.

Civil Law:

  • A civil right of action that develops unrelated to equity, reparation, criminality, or contract.
  • Torts safeguard a person's interest in their reputation, material property, physical safety, or financial security.
  • A court order can be used to stop any interference and remedy unlawful interference with one of these interests.
  • The goal of tort law is to put the victim back in the same situation she was in before the tort.


What are the types of law?

Common law, Statutory law, Criminal law, and Civil law are the types of law. Law is a set of regulations and rules. Legal procedures vary between jurisdictions, with their dissimilarities examined in comparative law.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates