What are the Three Layers of Earth?

By Shivank Goel|Updated : August 25th, 2022

The three layers of the Earth are the Crust, the Mantle, and the Core. The outermost layer of the Earth is called the Crust, which is made up of hard rock, which is mostly graphite or basalt and is brittle in nature.

Below the Crust lies the Mantle, which possesses upto 2900 km of thickness. The third layer is the Core which happens to be the center of the Earth.

Earth and its Layers

Earth is the densest planet in the solar system and consists of three main layers. 

  • The outermost rocky layer is known as the Crust, which is also the thinnest layer of Earth, although solid. Its thickness is measured somewhere around 40 km and is further divided into 15 tectonic plates. The thickness of this layer may vary depending on whether it exists in continental or oceanic areas.
  • The second layer beyond the Crust is the Mantle. It is quite hot, with temperatures ranging from 500- 900 Celsius. The Mantle is also dense and makes its movements in the form of a semi-solid rock. The upper part of the mantle is called the Asthenosphere, which is the main source of magma. The lower part of the mantle is beyond the Asthenosphere.
  • The Core, which is the center of the Earth, is divided into two main parts, which are the 'Outer Core' and the 'Inner core'. The Outer Core stays in a liquid state, whereas the Inner Core stays in a solid state. The Core is actually composed of heavy stuff such as nickel and iron and therefore is also referred to as the 'nife layer.'

Related Questions:-


write a comment


  • The third layer beneath the Crust and the Mantle is called the Core and forms the center of the Earth.

  • The upper part of the Earth’s Mantle is called the Asthenosphere.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates