What are the Parts and Schedules of the Indian Constitution?

By Durga Prashanna Mishra|Updated : July 22nd, 2022

The original Indian Constitution had 22 parts and 295 and 8 schedules. But currently, the Indian constitution has 25 Parts and 12 Schedules. Constitution Day is observed on 26th November every year. The Indian Constitution is the longest constitution in the world. We have mentioned the parts and schedules of the Indian constitution below.

How Many Parts and Schedules are there in Indian Constitution

Below we have covered the parts of the Indian Constitution and its articles.

Parts and Subject


Part I – The Union and its Territories

1 – 4

Part II – Citizenship

5 -11

Part III – Fundamental Rights

12 – 35

Part IV – Directive Principles of State Policy

36 – 51

Part IV A – Fundamental Duties


Part V – The Union

52 – 151

Part VI – The States

152 – 237

Part VII – The States in Part B of First Schedule

238 [Repealed]

Part VIII – The Union Territories

239 – 242

Part IX – The Panchayats

243 – 243O

Part IXA – The Municipalities

243P – 243ZG

Part IXB – The Co-operative Societies

243ZH – 243ZT

Part X – The Scheduled and Tribal Areas

244 – 244A

Part XI – Relation between the Union and the States

245 – 263

Part XII – Finance, Property, Contracts and Suits

264 – 300A

Part XIII – Trade, Commerce and Intercourse within the territory of India

301 – 307

Part XIV – Services Under the Union and the States

308 – 323

Part XIVA – Tribunals

323A – 323B

Part XV – Elections

324 – 329A

Part XVI – Special provisions relating to certain classes

330 – 342

Part XVII – Official language

343 – 351

Part XVIII – Emergency Provisions

352 – 360

Part XIX – Miscellaneous

361 – 367

Part XX – Amendment of the Constitution


Part XXI – Temporary, Transitional and Special Provisions

369 – 392

Part XXII – Short Title, Commencement, Authoritative Text in Hindi and Repeals

393 – 395

Schedules of Indian Constitution

There are 12 schedules in the Indian Constitution and we have covered all of them below. 

  • 1st Schedule- contains the list of States and Union Territories and their territories.
  • 2nd Schedule- contains the provision related to privileges, allowances, emoluments of President, Governors of States, Chairman of Rajya Sabha & Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Speaker of Lok Sabha & Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha, Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Legislative Councils of the Indian States, Supreme Court Judges, Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Legislative Assemblies of the Indian States, Comptroller & Auditor General of India (CAG), High Court and Supreme court Judges.
  • 3rd Schedule- contains Forms of Oaths
  • 4th Schedule- Contains provision as to the seat allocation in the Council of States.
  • 5th Schedule- contains provision for the control and administration of Scheduled Tribes and Scheduled Areas.
  • 6th Schedule- Contains provisions in relation to the administration of Tribal areas in Tripura, Assam, Mizoram, and Meghalaya.
  • 7th Schedule- Contains the state list, union list, and concurrent list.
  • 8th Schedule- contains the list of all recognized languages.
  • 9th Schedule- Contains provisions as to the validation of certain regulations and acts.
  • 10th Schedule- Contains provisions for disqualification on the ground of defection
  • 11th Schedule- contains authority, powers, and responsibilities of panchayats.
  • 12th Schedule- contains powers, authority, and responsibilities of Municipalities.

Related Questions:-


write a comment

FAQs on What are the Parts and Schedules of the Indian Constitution?

  • Currently, the Indian constitution has 448 Articles in 25 parts and 12 schedules. The original Indian Constitution had 22 parts and 295 articles.

  • Currently, there are 12 schedules in the Indian Constitution. Originally Indian Constitution had 8 schedules. 

Follow us for latest updates