What are the Main Functions of Rajya Sabha?

By Shubhra Anand Jain|Updated : July 25th, 2022

The primary function of the Rajya Sabha is to protect the union government’s interests. Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha are the two houses of the bicameral Parliament of India. Rajya Sabha, being the upper house of the Parliament, is responsible for many essential constitutional functions. Some of the other main functions of Rajya Sabha are as follows:

Functions of Rajya Sabha

Legislative Functions

A bill cannot be passed without the Rajya Sabha. 

Executive Functions

Rajya Sabha members can criticize, ask questions, and move adjournment.

Judicial Functions

Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha can impeach the President in case of violation of the constitution. 

Electoral Functions

Rajya Sabha members, along with Lok Sabha and State Legislative Assembly members, can elect the President and Vice President of India.

Amendment Functions

Rajya Sabha can pass a constitutional amendment bill together with the Lok Sabha, with 2/3 majority in each house.

Main Functions of Rajya Sabha?

The functions of Rajya Sabha are not limited to the aforementioned points. The Rajya Sabha also acts as a debating chamber and a federal chamber. Beyond this, there are also two powers that the Rajya Sabha enjoys exclusively, which are given below:

  • Rajya Sabha can create or abolish an All India Service.
  • Rajya Sabha can announce a State List subject as of National Importance.

Related Questions:-


write a comment


  • The primary function of Rajya Sabha is to protect the interests of the union government. Rajya Sabha is the upper house of the Parliament with various legislative, executive, and judicial functions.

  • The maximum number of members that can be in the Rajya Sabha is 245. Out of these members, 233 members are elected through votes, and the President elects 12 members.

Follow us for latest updates