What are the Eastern Ghats?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 4th, 2022

The Eastern Ghats are a discontinuous mountain range along the eastern coast of India. They are often irregular and broken by rivers flowing into the Bay of Bengal. The Eastern Ghats pass through Andhra Pradesh, Orissa, and Tamil Nadu in the south, which passes through a few parts of Telangana and Karnataka. The highest peak is Mahendragiri (1,501 meters) in the Eastern Ghats. Shevaroy Hills and Javadi Hills are located southeast of the Eastern Ghats.

The Eastern Ghats

  • They provide an extremely fertile area suitable for crops such as rice. At 965 m, Doli Gutta is Telangana's highest peak in the Eastern Ghats.
  • Odakkan Betta is the highest point of the Eastern Ghats in Tamil Nadu. Deomali, with a height of 1672 m, is the highest point in Odisha.
  • Jindhagada/ Arma Konda peak, at 1680 m above sea level in Andhra Pradesh, is the highest point. Four major rivers of peninsular India cut them: the Godavari, Krishna, Mahanadi, and Kaveri.
  • The Deccan Plateau lies west of the range, between the Eastern and Western Ghats. Like the Coromandel Coast, the coastal plain lies between the Bay of Bengal And Eastern Ghats.


What are the Eastern Ghats?

The discontinuous mountain range along the Indian eastern coast is the eastern ghats. They are irregular and often broken by rivers that drain into the Bay of Bengal.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates