What are the different types of forests in India?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 3rd, 2022

India's different types of forests are divided into five groups. They are tropical deciduous forests, tropical evergreen forests, mountain vegetation, thorny bushes, and mangrove forests. Forests are the predominant terrestrial ecosystem of Earth found around the globe. A forest is an area of land dominated by trees. Almost 24.56% of the geographical area of India is covered by forest.

Different Types of Forest in India

  • Tropical Evergreen Forest: Found in the Northeastern Himalayas, Western Ghats, and the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, where the monsoon lasts long, and the trees stay green throughout the year.
  • Tropical Deciduous Forest: Found in Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, West Orissa, and Chota Nagpur plateau, where the rainfall is moderate. The trees in the shed have their leaves mostly in winter.
  • Thorny bushes: Found in semi-arid regions of the country where the rainfall is seasonal. It is found in Southwest Punjab, Rajasthan Gujarat, and Madhya Pradesh. The trees have thick, waxy leaves to prevent water loss during transpiration.
  • Mountain vegetation: Mostly found in the Himalayan mountain range where the temperature is low, and it snows during some parts of the year. The trees have needle-like leaves that help the snow to fall off easily.
  • Mangrove forest: Found in the river deltas and along the coast. It is found in the Ganges delta of West Bengal and Bangladesh. The trees grow in a mixture of freshwater and saline water. The Sundarbans is the largest mangrove forest in India.


What are the different types of forests in India?

The five different types of forests in India are thorny bushes, tropical deciduous forests, mountain vegetation, tropical evergreen forest, and mangrove forests.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates