What are the 7 major ecosystems?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 1st, 2022

7 major ecosystems are forest ecosystem, grassland ecosystem, tundra ecosystem, desert ecosystem, freshwater ecosystem, and marine ecosystem. Plants, animals, and microorganisms that coexist with abiotic environmental variables make up forest ecosystems.

  • Tropical, temperate, and boreal forest habitats are categorized based on the type of climate they experience.
  • More diversified flora and animals can be found in tropical rainforest habitats than in any other ecosystem on earth.
  • These warm, damp settings encourage the growth of towering trees and thick, dense foliage, with species living from the forest floor to the canopy.
  • Forest ecosystems in temperate zones can be deciduous, coniferous, or sometimes a mixture of the two, with some trees losing their leaves each fall and others remaining evergreen all year. Taiga, or boreal woods, are found in the far north, just south of the Arctic, and are characterized by a profusion of coniferous trees.
  • Temperate Savanna and other grasses and herbs predominate in grassland ecosystems.
  • No trees in tundra ecosystems are found in frigid climates or areas with little rainfall.
  • The tundra-type Desert Ecology, which is present all over the planet, is the ecosystem in the Arctic or on mountain peaks. There is extremely little rainfall in these areas.
  • The freshwater ecosystem comprises wetlands, rivers, streams, lakes, and ponds.
  • Seas and oceans are included in the marine ecosystem.

7 Major Ecosystems

Every living and nonliving object in a specific natural environment makes up an ecosystem. Significant elements of many ecosystems include plants, animals, insects, microorganisms, rocks, soil, water, and sunlight.

  • Terrestrial or aquatic ecosystems are the two main types of ecosystems
  • Marine ecosystems are based on water, while terrestrial ecosystems are based on land.
  • The main categories are forest, grasslands, deserts, tundra, freshwater, and marine environments.
  • The term "biome" can also refer to terrestrial ecosystems that cover a significant region of land, such as Tundra.
  • But remember, those specific ecosystem characteristics might vary significantly; for instance, an oceanic ecosystem in the Caribbean Sea will have very different species than one in the Gulf of Alaska.


What are the 7 major ecosystems?

The 7 major ecosystems are grassland ecosystem, forest ecosystem, desert ecosystem, tundra ecosystem, marine ecosystem, and freshwater ecosystem.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates