What are the 13 major ports in India?

By Saroj Singh|Updated : July 4th, 2022

There are 13 Major Ports in India. These are located in 9 coastal states. A port is a marine facility composing one or more harbours or loading areas, where yachts load and discharge shipments and passengers. 

Mumbai, Kandla, Mangalore, JNPT, Mormugao, and Cochin are west coast ports. The ports on India's east coast are Chennai, Tuticorin, Visakhapatnam, Paradip, Kolkata, and Ennore.

This topic is important for MPSC Rajyaseva, MPSC Combined, Maharashtra Police Bharti, Maharashtra Arogya Bharti, MPSC CDPO and other Maharashtra State exams.

Download BYJU'S Exam Prep App and prepare General Knowledge for Maharashtra State exams.

Complete list of major ports in India

There are more than 180 minor seaports and 13 major ports in India. India is serviced by 13 major ports (12 Government-owned and one private). The Government has devised innovative strategies to update the infrastructure of these listed ports through the Sagarmala project and the National Maritime Development Programme.

The 13 major ports in India are given below:

  • Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust (Nhava Sheva), Navi Mumbai- Maharashtra
  • Kandla-Gujarat
  • Mumbai Port Trust-Maharashtra
  • Port Blair- Andaman & Nicobar Islands
  • Ennore-Tamil Nadu
  • Kochi- Kerala
  • Tuticorin- Tamil Nadu
  • Mangalore-Karnataka
  • Paradip- Odisha
  • Visakhapatnam- Andhra Pradesh
  • Mormugao-Goa
  • Kolkata-West Bengal
  • Chennai- Tamil Nadu

More From Us:

MPSC Free Exam Preparation

Maharashtra Static GK 

MPSC Current Affairs 2022: Download in Marathi & English

Important Government Schemes For MPSC 

NCERT Books for MPSC State Exam 2022

Maharashtra State Board Books PDF

MPSC GK Study Material: Complete Notes for MPSC Exam [Free]

Download BYJU'S Exam Prep App


write a comment

Follow us for latest updates