What are Easterlies and Westerlies?

By Shivank Goel|Updated : November 3rd, 2022

Easterlies are wind patterns that move from the East to the West, whereas Westerlies move from the West to the East. Winds are classified into three types namely primary, secondary, and tertiary winds. The Easterlies and Westerlies are classified as primary winds. These are the winds of the planet.

Easterlies and Westerlies Characteristics

Westerlies and Easterlies are examples of Planetary or Primary winds. These are the winds that typically blow in the same direction all year.

  • Westerlies have greater speed and force than the other primary winds during the winter season.
  • Because of their vast maritime span, the Westerlies also play an important role in providing warm, equatorial waters and winds to the western borders of continents.
  • The Polar Easterlies or Easterlies also play an important role in climate change.
  • They are one of the five principal wind zones that actually form our circulatory system, known as wind belts.
  • Here keep in mind that Polar easterlies are usually dry, and cold prevailing air and it flows from the East direction.
  • The high pressure around the poles of the earth plays an important role in this.

Related Questions:


write a comment

FAQs on Easterlies and Westerlies

  • In layman's terms, Easterlies are winds that blow from the east to the west. Westerlies, on the other hand, are wind types that blow from the west to the east. Many factors in the Earth's atmosphere play a role in this.

  • The Easterlies and the Westerlies are the Primary or Planetary types of winds that blow in the same direction all year round. Total three types of Wind categories are there Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary winds.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates