What are 27 Nakshatras?

By meenakshi|Updated : October 7th, 2022

The 27 Nakshatras are Revati, Uttara Bhadrapada, Purva Bhadrapada, Shatabhishak, Dhanishta, Shravana, Uttara Ashadha, etc. There are 27 Nakshatras as per Hindu astrology listed in Vedanga Jyotish. Nakshatra means lunar mansion or constellation and is considered as the sphere with an ecliptic.

List of 27 Nakshatras

According to Hindu mythology, the constellations are the daughters of Daksha who is married to the Moon, due to which the Moon spends a day with each; Thus there are 27 days in the lunar month.

In Hindu astrology, the constellation system is essential and carries forward the influence of Hellenistic astrology. The list of 27 Nakshatras along with their essential characteristics is as follows:

  • Revati- Mridu (tender)
  • Uttara Bhadrapada- Sthira (fixed)
  • Purva Bhadrapada- Urga or Krura (fierce)
  • Shatabhishak- Chara (movable)
  • Dhanishta- Chara (movable)
  • Shravana- Chara (movable)
  • Uttara Ashadha- Sthira (fixed)
  • Purva Ashadha- Urga or Krura (fierce)
  • Mula- Tikshna (sharp)
  • Jyeshta- Tikshna (sharp)
  • Anuradha- Mridu (tender)
  • Vishaka- Misra (mixed)
  • Swati- Laghu or Kshipra (swift)
  • Chitra- Mridu (tender)
  • Hasta- Laghu or Kshipra (swift)
  • Uttara Phalguni- Sthira (fixed)
  • Purva Phalguni- Urga or Krura (fierce)
  • Magha- Urga or Krura (fierce)
  • Ashlesha- Tikshna (sharp)
  • Pushya- Laghu or Kshipra (swift)
  • Punarvasu- Chara (movable)
  • Ardra- Tikshna (sharp)
  • Mrigashira- Mridu (tender)
  • Rohini- Sthira (fixed)
  • Krittika- Misra (mixed)
  • Bharani- Urga or Krura (fierce)
  • Ashwini- Laghu or Kshipra (swift)

Related Questions:


write a comment

FAQs on the 27 Nakshatras

  • Revati, Uttara Bhadrapada, Purva Bhadrapada, Shatabhishak, Dhanishta, Shravana, Uttara Ashadha, Purva Ashadha, Mula, Jyeshta, Anuradha, Vishaka, Swati, Chitra, Hasta, Uttara Phalguni, Purva Phalguni, Magha, Ashlesha, Pushya, Punarvasu, Ardra, Mrigashira, Rohini, Krittika, Bharani, Ashwini.

  • Among 27 Nakshatras, there 4 most auspicious Nakshatras for the birth of a child. These are Ashvini, Magha nakshatras, Pushya, and Bharni. 

  • As per Hindu astrology, there are 27 types of Nakshatra, each with a different meaning. In Hindi mythology, the Nakshatras were daughters of the king Daksha and all of them were married to Moon. 

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates