What are 11th and 12th Schedule?

By Ruchika|Updated : November 3rd, 2022

The 11th Schedule outlines the provisions pertaining to Panchayats' powers, authority, and responsibilities. The 12th Schedule, on the other hand, contains provisions defining Municipalities' powers, authority, and responsibilities. The 73rd Amendment Act of 1992 added the 11th schedule, which covered a total of 29 issues. The 74th Amendment Act of 1992 added a 12th schedule with a total of 18 matters.

11th and 12th Schedules

The Panchayats and their functions and powers are addressed in the Constitution's 11th Schedule. The schedule outlines 29 issues over which the Panchayats have authority. These issues include:

11th Schedule Matters

Agriculture, including agricultural extension

Land improvement, implementation of land reforms, land consolidation and soil conservation

Minor irrigation, water management and watershed development

Animal husbandry, dairying and poultry


Social forestry and farm forestry

Minor forest produces

Small-scale industries, including food processing industries

Rural housing 

Khadi, village and cottage industries

Drinking water

Fuel and fodder

Roads, culverts, bridges, ferries, waterways and other means of communication

Rural electrification, including distribution of electricity

Non-conventional energy sources 

Poverty alleviation programme

Education, including primary and secondary schools

Technical training and vocational education

Adult and non-formal education 


Cultural activities

Markets and fairs

Health and sanitation, including hospitals and dispensaries

Family welfare

Women and child development

Social welfare, including the welfare of the handicapped and mentally retarded

Maintenance of community assets

Public distribution system

Welfare of the weaker sections, particularly of the Scheduled Castes and the Scheduled Tribes

12th Schedules

The functions and powers of municipalities are addressed in the Constitution's 12th Schedule. This schedule addresses 18 issues that fall under the purview of municipalities. These are the areas in which they have authority. These are some examples:

12th Schedule Matters

Urban planning

Regulation of land use and construction of buildings

Planning for economic and social development

Roads and bridges

Water supply for domestic, industrial and commercial purposes

Public health, sanitation conservancy and solid waste management

Fire services

 Urban forestry, protection of the environment and promotion of ecological aspects
 Safeguarding the interests of weaker sections of society, including the handicapped and mentally retardedSlum improvement and upgradation
 Urban poverty alleviation

Provision of urban amenities and facilities

Promotion of cultural, educational and aesthetic aspectsBurials and burial grounds cremations, cremation grounds and electric crematoriums
Cattle pounds prevention of cruelty to animals Vital statistics include registration of births and deaths

Public amenities like street lighting, bus stops, parking lots, etc.

Regulation of slaughterhouses and tanneries

Related Questions:


write a comment

FAQs on 11th and 12th Schedules

  • The 11th Schedule of Indian Constitution hasp provisions for power, responsibilities and authority of Panchayats. Simiarly, the 12th Schedule covers the powers, authority and responsibilities of the Municipalities.

  • The 11th Schedule of the Constitution deals with the authority and power of Panchayats whereas the 12th Schedule deals with Municipalities and their power and authority.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates