7 New District in West Bengal: Updated Districts List Here!

By Sumit Mazumder|Updated : August 2nd, 2022

Seven new districts got placed on the map of West Bengal. West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has decided to facilitate administrative work. After six months, these districts will be added to the map of West Bengal. Due to this, the number of districts in the state will increase from 23 to 30.

This is a very important article for candidates appearing for WBCS Exam or other West Bengal Govt Jobs Exam. In this article, we will discuss in detail the seven new districts and the other newly formed districts of West Bengal.

Table of Content

7 New Districts of West Bengal

The Chief Minister made this announcement at a press conference at Nabanna on 1 August 2022. Earlier, too, West Bengal's large districts were broken up to form new districts. West Medinipur was split earlier, and a separate Jhargram district was formed. In the same way, the Alipurduar district was created by splitting Jalpaiguri. Burdwan was also divided into East-West. Let us now see which new districts are being formed in 2022 and from which part these districts are being formed.

New Districts Name


Sundarban District

South 24 Pargana is being broken up

Basirhat District (whose name will be given later)

North 24 Pargana is being broken up 

Ichamati District

North 24 Parganas is being broken up

Ranaghat District

Nadia is being broken up


Bankura is being broken up


Murshidabad is being broken up


Murshidabad is being broken up

History of District Reorganization in West Bengal

In 1947, when India achieved independence, the state of West Bengal was formed out of the 14 districts of the British Indian province of Bengal. 

  • On 26 January 1950, the erstwhile native state of Cooch Behar was incorporated into West Bengal as a district. 
  • In 1954 AD, the erstwhile French colony was incorporated as a part of the Hooghly district of Chandannagar state.
  • According to the State Reorganization Act of 1956, the Purulia district was annexed to Bengal, and another part of Bihar was annexed to West Dinajpur.

Districts of West Bengal - 

West Bengal is the easternmost state of India, bordering Nepal, Bhutan and Bangladesh. West Bengal currently has 23 districts and district headquarters. Some of these districts have been created quite recently. Earlier, there were 19 districts in West Bengal. A few years back, 4 more districts were formed to facilitate administrative work.


Image source - West Bengal Govt.

Divisions of West Bengal

A division consists of several districts. West Bengal is divided into 23 districts with 5 divisions:

  1. Jalpaiguri Division 
  2. Malda Division 
  3. Burdwan Division 
  4. Presidency Division 
  5. Medinipur Division

Division Name


Presidency division

  1. Howrah 
  2. Kolkata 
  3. Nadia 
  4. North 24 Parganas 
  5. South 24 Parganas 

Medinipur division

  1. Bankura 
  2. Jhargram 
  3. Paschim Medinipur 
  4. Purba Medinipur 
  5. Purulia 

Burdwan division

  1. Birbhum 
  2. Paschim Bardhaman 
  3. Purba Bardhaman 
  4. Hooghly 

Malda division

  1. Dakshin Dinajpur 
  2. Malda 
  3. Murshidabad 
  4. Uttar Dinajpur 

Jalpaiguri division

  1. Alipurduar district
  2. Cooch Behar district
  3. Darjeeling district
  4. Jalpaiguri district
  5. Kalimpong district

Current Affairs is an important part of WBCS or other government jobs exams. If you want to stay updated on current daily news, follow West Bengal Current Affairs.

WBCS এর জন্য গুরুত্বপূর্ণ আর্টিকেল

WBCS Preparation Tips

WBCS Syllabus

WBCS Eligibility Criteria

WBCS Exam Pattern

WBCS Books

WBCS Study Plan



write a comment

West Bengal to get 7 new districts FAQ

  • Recently the chief minister of West Bengal announced seven new districts. These seven new districts are Sundarbans, Ichamati (comprising Bangaon subdivision and Bagda in North 24 Parganas), Basirhat, Ranaghat, Bishnupur, Baharampur and Kandi.

  • Recently, West Bengal Chief Minister announced the separation of the Bankura district and the formation of a separate Bishnupur district. However, the new district map will include Bishnupur, Jaipur, Kotulpur, Sonamukhi, Patrasair and Inda's blocks and some other blocks.

  • Presently, West Bengal has five divisions and 23 districts. Some new districts have been created out of these districts. There were 19 districts in West Bengal, and later, 4 more districts were formed to facilitate administrative work.

  • West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee announced that seven new districts will be created in the state. South 24 Parganas district is being split to form Sundarban, Nadia will be split into Ranaghat, Bankura will be split into Bishnupur district, and Murshidabad will be split into two districts, Kandi and Baharampur. Apart from this, it was decided in the cabinet to split North 24 Parganas and create three districts.

Follow us for latest updates