The Equator Passes through Which States of India?

By Mandeep Kumar|Updated : August 29th, 2022

The equator does not pass through India as India lies in the northern hemisphere. The Equator is the line midway between the North Pole and the South Pole. It is an imaginary line running on the globe that divides it into two equal parts. The circles parallel to the equator up to the poles are called parallels of latitudes.

Where does the Equator Pass Through?

The equator passes through three continents, thirteen countries, and three water bodies. The names of the three continents through which the equator passes are Asia, Africa, and South America. 

The Equator passes through thirteen countries namely Maldives, Indonesia, and Kiribati in Asia; Gabon, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Uganda, Kenya, Sao Tome and Principe, and Somalia in Africa; Ecuador, Colombia, and Brazil in South America. 

The three water bodies through which the equator passes are the Indian Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, and the Pacific Ocean.

Related Questions:-


write a comment


  • As India lies completely in the northern hemisphere, hence the equator does not pass through it.

  • An imaginary line that divides Earth into the Northern and Southern hemispheres is called the equator. It is located at 0 degrees latitude.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates