Standards and Quality Practices: Standards and codes

By Vijay Pratap Singh|Updated : May 30th, 2021



























































  • ISO stands for “International Organization for Standardization”
  • It was set up in 1947 and is located in Geneva, Switzerland.
  • A standard is a document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose.

What is ISO Certification and is it Right for you?:

  • ISO certification is proof from a third party that you comply with an ISO management standard.
  • To achieve ISO Certification, you have to prove that your business meets the requirements of the standard. Although this sounds intimidating, a lot of the requirements are general good business practice and we will help you every step of the way.

Benefits of ISO Certificate:

The most common benefits include:

For business:

(i) Cost savings.

(ii)Enhanced customer satisfaction.

(iii)Access to new markets.

(iv)Increased market share.

(v)Environmental benefits.

For Society:

(i) Confidence

(ii) Reliability

For government:

(i) Expert opinion

(ii)Opening up world trade

Parties ISO Certificate:

There are three parties which are involved in the ISO certification such as,

There are three types of audits used in this process, called certification audits, maintenance or surveillance audits, and re-certification audits.

(i) First-Party Audits:

  • First-party audits are often called internal audits.
  • This is when someone from the organization itself will audit a process or set of processes in the quality management system to ensure it meets the procedure that the company has specified.

(ii) Second-Party Audits:

A second-party audit is when a company performs an audit of a supplier to ensure that they are meeting the requirements specified in the contract.

(iii) Third-Party Audits:

  • A third-party audit occurs when a company has decided that they want to create a quality management system (QMS) that conforms to a standard set of requirements, such as ISO 9001, and hire an independent company to perform an audit to verify that the company has succeeded in this endeavor.

ISO 9000:

ISO 9000 series are based on the eight quality management principles:

(i) Customer focus.

(ii) Leadership.

(iii) Process approach.

(iv) Involvement of people.

(v) Continual improvement.

(vi) System approach to management.

(vii) Mutually beneficial supplier relationship.

(viii) Factual approach to decision making.

At present, three main standards of this family are:

ISO 9000 - Quality management systems – Fundamentals and vocabulary

ISO 9001 - Quality management systems - Requirement

ISO 9004 – Quality management systems - Guideline for performance improvement.

ISO 9000:2015 – Covers the basic concepts and language

ISO 9001:2015 – Sets out requirements of a quality management system.

ISO 9004:2009 – Focuses on how to make a quality management system more effective and efficient.

ISO 9011:2011 – Sets out guidance on the internal and external audits of quality management system.

ISO 14000:

  • ISO 14000 is defined as a series of international environmental management standards, guides, and technical reports.

ISO 14000 provides standards in three major areas.

(i) Management systems.

(ii) Operations

(iii) Environmental systems

(i) Management Systems:

  • Systems development and integration of environment responsibilities Into business planning.

(ii) Operations:

  • Consumption of natural resources and energy.

(iii) Environmental Systems:

  • Measuring, assessing, and managing emissions, effluents, and other waste.

Important standards of ISO 14000 series are:

  • ISO 14001 – Specification of Environmental Management systems.
  • ISO 14004 – Guideline standard.
  • ISO 14010 to ISO 14015 - Environmental Auditing and Related activities.
  • ISO 14020 to ISO 14024 - Environmental labeling.
  • ISO 14031 to ISO 14032 - Environmental performance Evaluation.
  • ISO 14040 to ISO 14043 - Life Cycle Assessment.
  • ISO 14050 - Terms and Definitions.

OHSAS 18000:

OHSAS 18000 family was developed by the OHSAS project Group, The British Standards Institution (BSI) currently provides the Secretariat of the OHSAS Project Group.

OHSAS 18001:

  • BS OHSAS 18001 is a specification giving requirements for an Occupational Health and Safety OH&S Management System, to enable an organization to control its OH&S risks and improve its performance.

Benefits of OHSAS 18001:

Sahi Prep Hai Toh Life Set Hai!

Posted by:

Vijay Pratap SinghVijay Pratap SinghMember since Nov 2019 IIT-Roorkee ||cracked GATE...
Share this article   |


write a comment


tags :ESE & GATE MEGeneralGATE ME OverviewGATE ME NotificationGATE ME Apply OnlineGATE ME EligibilityGATE ME Selection Process


tags :ESE & GATE MEGeneralGATE ME OverviewGATE ME NotificationGATE ME Apply OnlineGATE ME EligibilityGATE ME Selection Process

Follow us for latest updates