Rigveda Deals With

By Sakshi Yadav|Updated : August 1st, 2022

Rig Veda deals with a huge collection of hymns, poems, and shlokas and it is the oldest of the four Vedas.

  • It is a large collection of hymns in praise of the gods, which are chanted in various rituals and all the hymns were composed in the Sanskrit language. 
  • There are four types of Vedas in Hinduism i.e Rigveda (oldest Veda), Samaveda, Yajurveda, and Atharvaveda. 
  • The Sama Veda includes melodies, Yajur Veda contains the rituals of the Yagna and the last Veda Atharva Veda contains magic spells. 

Origin of Rigveda

Rigveda is one of the oldest Veda originated in 1500 BC in the Punjab region of India and Pakistan scripted in the Sanskrit format and consists of 1,028 poems grouped into 10 "circles." There is a general consensus that the first and last books were created later than the middle books which include philosophical questions and also discuss different virtues whereas 2 to 9 mandalas or book consists of cosmology and deities while Rigvedic book 2 and 7 were called a family book.


Rigveda Deals With

Rigveda has 1028 hymns, a collection of 10 books called ‘Mandalas, and 10000 shlokas. The most important hymns are Nasadiya Sukta, Purusha Sukta, and Vishwakarma Sukta.

Related Links:


write a comment

Follow us for latest updates