Rankine cycle consist of ________.

By Mandeep Kumar|Updated : August 5th, 2022

1. two isobaric and two isothermal processes

2. two isobaric and two isentropic processes

3. two isothermal and two isentropic processes

4. two isothermal and two isochoric processes

A thermodynamic cycle commonly used in power plants to convert the pressure energy of steam into mechanical energy through steam turbines is called the Rankine cycle. It is named after a Scottish engineer and physicist, William Johnson Macquorn Rankine.

Answer: Rankine cycle consists of two isobaric and two isentropic processes.

The major components of the Rankine cycle are a rotating steam turbine, a stationary condenser, a boiler pump, and a boiler. The cycle commences when a fluid like water is compressed and put under high pressure. The water gets heated in the boiler to produce steam as per the requirement of the turbine.

Processes of Rankine Cycle

There are a total of four processes. They are illustrated below:

  • The fluid is pushed from low pressure to high pressure. This process is called isentropic compression.

  • In the second step, the liquid at high pressure enters the boiler. It becomes a dry saturated vapour when it is heated at constant pressure by an external heat source.

  • The dry saturated vapour generates power by expanding through the turbine. It results in the decrease of the temperature and pressure of the vapour and condensation takes place.

  • The wet vapour gets condensed at a constant pressure to become a saturated liquid in the condenser. Later, the condensed liquid becomes a saturated liquid.


Rankine cycle consist of ________.

Rankine cycle consist of two isobaric and two isentropic processes.


write a comment

PO, Clerk, SO, Insurance


Follow us for latest updates