List of Prime Ministers of India: Know First PM, First Lady PM of India

By Mohit Chauhan|Updated : July 16th, 2020

From Shri Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru to incumbent Shri Narendra Modi, the list of prime ministers of India features the names of quality leaders who have led the government after the Indian independence. The prime minister holds the senior-most position in the cabinet and works as a chief advisor to the president of India and the head of the council of ministers. 

Shri Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, the first prime minister of India, served the Indian government post the independence until his death in 1964. Under Nehru’s leadership, the Indian National Congress dominated both national and state-level politics. As a result, he won Lok Sabha elections for four consecutive times in 1947, 1951, 1957 and 1962. 

The prime minister of India list also includes prominent personalities such as Lal Bahadur Shastri, Indira Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi, Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Dr Manmohan Singh, and Narendra Modi. The PM of India can join any of the two houses of the Parliament- the Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha. Major responsibilities of the PM includes heading the Union Cabinet, selecting cabinet ministers, and assigning posts to members within the government. 

The list of PMs of India is a frequently asked topic in the general awareness section of SSC, UPSC or other prestigious government exams. Aspirants must know the name of all prime ministers and their term of office to avoid losing easy marks. Here you can check the list of prime ministers of India from 1947 to 2019, in chronological order. 

List of Prime Ministers of India (1947 - 2020)

Since independence, the Indian government saw 19 prime ministers leading the Union Cabinet. We have tabulated the prime ministers’ list along with their office tenure below. 

Prime Ministers of India 

Term of office

Jawaharlal Nehru

Aug 15, 1947 - May 27, 1964

Gulzari Lal Nanda (Interim)

May 27 - Jun 09, 1964

Lal Bahadur Shastri

Jun 09, 1964 - Jan 11, 1966

Gulzari Lal Nanda

Jan 11 - Jan 24, 1966

Indira Gandhi

Jan 24, 1966 - Mar 24, 1977

Morarji Desai

Mar 24, 1977 - Jul 28, 1979

Charan Singh

Jul 28, 1979 - Jan 14, 1980

Indira Gandhi 

Jan 14, 1980 - Oct 31, 1984

Rajiv Gandhi

Oct 31, 1984 - Dec 02, 1989

Vishwanath Pratap Singh

Dec 02, 1989 - Nov 10, 1990

Chandra Shekhar

Nov 10, 1990 - Jun 21, 1991

P.V. Narasimha Rao

Jun 21, 1991 - May 16, 1996

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

May 16 - Jun 01, 1996

H.D. Deve Gowda

Jun 01, 1996 - Apr 21, 1997

Inder Kumar Gujral

Apr 21, 1997 - Mar 19, 1998

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

Mar 19, 1998 - May 22, 2004

Manmohan Singh

May 22, 2004 - May 26, 2014

Narendra Modi

May 26, 2014 - Present

Narendra Modi, the leader of Bhartiya Janta Party, is the current prime minister of India who is serving his second consecutive tenure. He is the fourth PM to do so, after Jawaharlal Nehru, Indira Gandhi, and Dr Manmohan Singh.


write a comment


  •  Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru was the first PM of India.

  • Lal Bahadur Shastri was appointed as the second prime minister of India. His tenure as a PM lasted between June 9, 1964, and Jan 11, 1966.

  • Although the Lok Sabha elections have taken place more than 16 times since the Indian independence, the same person who got elected multiple times will count as 1. As of now, Narendra Modi, who is the current PM of India is 15th prime minister.

  • Indira Gandhi became the first lady prime minister of India in 1966. She served the office between Jan 24, 1966, and March 24, 1977.

  • Narendra Modi won the Lok Sabha Elections 2014 to become the 15th prime minister of India. He is the 4th PM to have won two consecutive terms in the elections.

  • Rajiv Gandhi became the prime minister of India at the age of 40 years, thus becoming the youngest prime minister.

  • Narendra Modi was appointed as the 15th prime minister following his victory in 16th Lok Sabha Elections.

  • Dr Manmohan Singh, who served the country as a prime minister for two consecutive terms, won the 14th Lok Sabha Elections.

  • Congressman Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, who served for four consecutive terms before he died during his fourth tenure, remains the longest-serving prime minister.

  • PV Narasimha Rao got elected as the prime minister of India in 1991.

Follow us for latest updates